We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Hereford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Easter away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent Easter weekend here, it was a nice relaxing hotel. The building was rather on the tired side with one or two decorating problems that could easily be put right. Our bedroom was very well presented with a recent upgrade which was done very well, it had a very comfortable bed and a lovely finished bathroom. We enjoyed the food and our waiter was wonderful. The hotel position on the sea front was a big plus as the sea front here is as good as anywhere. All in all a good place to spend the Easter weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your Easter Break at The Grand. We do have an on going refurbishment programme at the hotel, at present we are having 12 rooms refurbished and a new lift installed also.
Hope to see you here again next Easter, if not before.
Thank you.
Kenny Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    175
    108
    31
    23
See reviews for
41
286
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I went for a pre Christmas break and was pleasantly surprised. So the room was basic, but food was fine and the entertainment was superb. Some hotels offer entertainment that starts at ten and ends at half past (!) here there was a quick game of bingo, the. A quiz,then a cabaret act. Over three nights, the activities were handled by different people, each doing everything- bingo, quiz, entertainment . Each time they were accomplished and great fun. I hope to go again as I often travel alone it's great when there's something going on in the evening so I don't have to sit in my room!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Pleased that you enjoyed our entertainment. We do have a varied selection of talented entertainers.
Hope to see you again soon.
Thank you
Kenny Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had a really nice stay at The Grand, staff was really friendly and helpful. Room was ok for the price although the wood work could do with a bit of new paint, everything else was fine for a short break. Breakfast was basic, but well cooked and service excellent. The hotel is well placed for the beach as it is right on the seafront, and also it is a short walk to town, where there are plenty of places to eat and drink. Would be a good place for a family holiday as there seems to be plenty for kids to do on the seafront.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayp00le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mention Exmouth has a wide range of things to do for any age and the hotel is situated in an ideal location, being so close to the sea.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Thank you
Kenny Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Well we stayed here for 2 nights this weekend and I have to say it was both bad and good. The location is fabulous, right on the seafront. When we arrived we had booked a standard double. This room was awful (room 32) it was decorated in the most horrendous, depressing dark grey colour and the big window was completely obscured glass, it felt a bit like a prison cell. We spoke to reception and were told this was the new colour scheme and this was one of the better standard rooms. However, reception were very helpful and offered us the chance to upgrade to a sea view room for an extra £14.00 per night. We chose to do this and I'm so glad we did. The view was amazing and the decor was much nicer! The bed was comfy and we slept well - although the room was a little on the warm side.
We had breakfast at the hotel and this was very good, a hearty, filling full English :)
On the whole we enjoyed our stay. I would return but I would definitely recommend upgrading to a sea view room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WSMgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thankyou for your honest review of the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break despite the décor of the first room not being to your taste. However you obviously appreciated the wonderful views we have from our seaview rooms which are well worth the upgrade cost. I see you also enjoyed the seafront location. I will pass on your positive comments regarding the breakfast. Hope to see you again in the not to distant future.
Regards
Kenny Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

stayed here for 5 days last week ,great hotel as usual ,food , staff , and room all great , we have stayed here 4 times and I cant fault it in any way ,Kenny and all the staff are so friendly and helpful and they really make you feel at home ,we have booked to go back for Christmas ,can't wait ,really looking forward to it , well done all and keep up the good work

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoy your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Christmas.
Once again thank you.
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked this 4 day trip with Shearings only a week before, paying only £99, so we weren't expecting the Ritz, and yes our room was very tired and in need of a revamp but the bed and bathroom were clean so we weren't too worried. The public areas of the hotel were fine, both breakfast and dinner were very enjoyable with plenty of choice (3 starters, 5 main courses and 4 desserts at dinner) and staff both friendly and efficient. The restaurant is in the cellar and if the lift is not working (as it wasn't for all of our stay) then anyone with mobility problems would struggle. The location is perfect, on the front with an easy walk into town, pleasant gardens nearby, and 2 or 3 pubs just along the road - yes, the bar prices in the hotel are not cheap (think town centre pubs). Entertainment was fine (with bingo kept short thankfully). The included trips to Sidmouth and Seaton were good (the former being a lovely place with winding streets and shops). On Sunday we did not take the optional trip and walked into town, but I presume because it was Sunday and out of the main season there was not a lot open. Antonios coffee shop is recommended though as their hot chocolate is awesome! So we took the train into Exeter - it runs every hour on Sunday, costs just over £4 return and is a lovely journey along the estuary.
All in all we think this trip was excellent value for money and we certainly enjoyed our stay. Only gripe would be using the 4 drinks vouchers on one evening - perhaps splitting them over 2 nights would have been better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagentaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. As you say these trips are excellent value for money at only £99 pp for dinner bed & breakfast some included trips out and entertainment in the evenings with 4 free drinks each on Saturdays. We do have rooms which are awaiting a refurb this year due to start in April. All in all glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks again

Kenny Sharp ( General manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Grand Hotel in Exmouth as part of a Shearings 5 day coach holiday. The hotel is positioned right on the front with views of the sea and estuary and also only a short level walk away from the centre of Exmouth (through some delightful gardens). Our room was a very odd shape but clean and serviceable. The dining room is down some very steep stairs in the basement although there is a lift - the front lift was out of action whilst we were there and the back lift entails a walk through a (now disused) function room and a few steps. The lounge and bar areas are made up of several interconnecting rooms and there is plenty of seating. Entertainment was provided each evening - mostly very good - but the setting was not ideal as many people were out of sight of the entertainer. An advertised 'small dance floor' was in fact an uncarpeted area right in front of the busy bar and there were also tables and chairs on it. The entertainers did their best but it was not ideal. Although the hotel itself was not very impressive, the staff were excellent. All very friendly and helpful. The food was good and the portions ample. We enjoyed our holiday very much - we did not go on the organised coach trips out (some of which we heard from other guests, were a little disappointing) but took the bus to Exeter for one day and to Sidmouth another the day whilst the third day was spent exploring Exmouth itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Glad to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the food. The majority of guests who go on the excursions do say how much they enjoy them.
Thank you for your review.
K. Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Grand Hotel
Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing