We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff and food”
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and food”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here for the long bank holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The staff were second to none especially in the restaurant where our waiter, a lovely Spanish guy called Moses(not the correct spelling, but I am sure the hotel will know who we mean!) was the best that we have ever had. The food was excellent for all the 4 days and the lovely touch of waiter service at the table was more than appreciated. The down sides were the horrific parking or rather lack of it. I realise ours was a late booking, but most people that we spoke to were really unhappy about it. the sea front was free from 6pm until 9am, but as breakfast was from 8-30 until 9-30, this posed a problem and also it coincided with the evening meal times. The room itself was small with only a shower and really scruffy and badly in need of updating. The room was at the back and unfortunately we were awakened every morning at 6-30 to 7-00 by the LOUD extractor fan from the kitchen. .Although again, I realise we did make a late booking and were lucky to get a hotel at bank holiday.The bedroom, however was clean and clean towels every day, also tea/coffee making facilities.But the bed was awful, so uncomfortable(room 53), with the springs being felt all night!!!! So come on Shearings, I am sure as a company you can afford to put things right, especially if you want our custom!

Room Tip: Only ask for a sea view at the front and book as much in advance as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Many thanks for your review, we welcome all comments positive and negative. I am pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your break with us. As you say the staff in this hotel are excellent and do a brilliant job. We do have a bedroom refurbishment programme in place whereby a certain amount of rooms receive a complete overhaul every year but as you can appreciate it cannot all be done at once and there are still a small amount awaiting a refurb, however I will personally look into the mattress situation within this room.
I will pass on your kind comments to our chefs and Moises regarding the food and service.
Thankyou again

Regards
Kenny Sharp(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    179
    111
    31
    23
See reviews for
41
291
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faversham
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

There were two firsts for this hotel:
1/ I was given a room without a shower (room 56)
2/ I had to request a change of room, yes a first for me.Both because no shower even one over the bath & a very uncomfortable bed.but they did oblige
This was a hotel terrace style with many connecting stairs,so took a time to adjust.
Staff were very helpful.
Food was adequate,,good waiter
Drinks again Shearings seen not to have heard of real ale !!
Entertainment usually good was poor on the saturday night, terrible singer

Room Tip: Try to get as lower floor as you can,preferable sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
First of all thankyou for taking the time to write a review, however I must point out that you state room 56 has no shower, this is obviously not the room you stayed in as this room has a shower over the bath and is one of our refurbished superior rooms overlooking the front of the hotel.
I am pleased that you found most other things to your satisfaction and that the staff were able to accommodate you with your room change. We do consider that we generally give good value for money and the staff do try very hard to please. I will look into your comments regarding the entertainment and bar.

Regards
Kenny Sharp( General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Afternoon tea, so quintesentially English. To be celebrated and enjoyed but not here. We visited Exmouth for the afternoon but with surf lefesaving competitions, and the Lifeboat Station open day, finding somewhere to park and have tea proved difficult. We eventually found a parking space across from the Bay Grand Hotel and decided to visit for tea.
It was a first visit and not very impressed. The hotel is opposite the beach, its a lovely setting, but they don't make the most of it. The weather was good so we wanted to sit outside. The garden is pretty awful. The 'lawn' is more weed than grass. There was plenty of grass between the paving stones and cigarette butts everywhere. The plants were sad and furniture dismal.
The young man who broughgt tea was very pleasant but there was little choice in the way of afternoon treats. The teaspoons were grubby and there were three little tubs of long life milk in each cup. The Grand Hotel could do much to improve the garden area and surely fresh milk is an obvious choice. Not an experience we would wish to repeat.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I am sorry that you did not find your afternoon tea to be an enjoyable experience, however I must point out that the gardens are about to benefit from a major overhaul which as you say is overdue. Perhaps if you return in a couple of months you may be able to enjoy a totally different experience.
Regards
Kenny sharp (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have stayed with friends many times with Shearings but this hotel did not match other places. Our sea view room was very clean and comfortable as was the bathroom. Breakfasts were very good but can't say the same about the evening meal First evening the potatoes were swimming in water and the vegetables were over cooked.
The second evening we walked along the front and ate at another establishment.
The staff were very friendly and our parking space was allocated very quickly.
We noticed on the first evening bulbs not working on the light fittings and these were never replaced while we were there also some of the ceilings could do with a coat of paint.
We will not be visiting again.

Room Tip: If you have a room on the front as we did the view is great but be prepared for guests going outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thankyou for writing a review, I am pleased that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. I realize breakfasts were to your satisfaction but I am surprised at your comments about the evening meals and I will certainly look into this. The comments about food are generally good as you can see from previous reviews. The staff are good as you say and I will pass on your comments to them.
kind regards
Kenny Sharp ( General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exmouth hotels

Plymouth uk
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had a fan break with friends at this lovely hotel. Ideal position for everything in exmouth. Lovely staff food and lounge. Great entertainment. Rooms lovely and very clean we had a brilliant time thank you xxxxx

Room Tip: Up grade for the views if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenhPlymouthuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thankyou for your review. I am pleased you and your friends enjoyed your break. Its good to see you appreciated the in house entertainment and were happy with the room and excellent position of the hotel.

Regards
Kenny Sharp(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just returned from a pleasant and relaxing weekend at The Grand Hotel, Exmouth. The hotel is situated on the front overlooking the sea.
We arrived on Friday afternoon. The staff at reception were very helpful and efficient. Our reserved car space was 5 minutes walk away at the Imperial Hotel, and cost us £15 for the 3 nights.
The room was on the second floor at the back of the hotel. The room was adequately furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless.
The food in the restaurant was excellent with a good choice at breakfast and at dinner. Our waitress Kristina was very helpful and efficient and looked after all our needs.
There was the usual bingo and entertainment in the evening. The drinks at the bar were very expensive (but you don't have to drink).
We had a very comfortable nights sleep, but be aware that the seagulls start shouting at approximately 04:00 am, but when the window is closed its not too bad.
All in all we were very happy with our stay and would definitely return. Thank you to the manager and all the staff, especially our waitress Kristina.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and don't want to be disturbed by the seagulls in the morning, you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review of your holiday with us. I am pleased to note that you found everything to your satisfaction. All staff do make a tremendous effort to try and ensure everyone enjoys their time with us. I will pass on your comments to Kristina, the reception staff and the kitchen. Thankyou again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Kenny Sharp (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed on a self drive 4 day break with a friend. First impression - drove straight past as all the front doors were shut and the main steps and entrance weren't very obvious. Once parked and inside reception staff were helpful. We were allocated a standard twin room, 36 - not the best, small with a pretty bleak outlook and quite hot. Room was clean, beds comfortable, loads of hangers in wardrobe, TV with a multitude of channels. Bathroom was small but adequate, with a shower unit which needed a lot of tlc - mould treatment etc. Also, the position of the handle on the bathroom door meant that you caught your hand each time you used it. Could have done with an additional towel rail to dry the bath towels - these were changed each day though.
The meals were good, standard Shearings, with a reasonable choice both for breakfast and dinner. Our waitress, Christina, was charming and nothing was too much trouble and all the restaurant staff were very efficient and worked very hard. The position of the hotel is its main plus point - on the sea front, with a short walk to the town and to the harbour. We did the "round robin" boat trip to Topsham with a train back - can well recommmend it. We even saw a steam train on the Torquay line and the Captain gave us an excellent commentary.
One point about the locks on the room doors - presumed they were yale and self closing, but, no, you need to actually lock them behind you. We left ours open for the first day without realising - perhaps reception should inform guests when they hand the room keys out.
Good value weekend break.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view. If not, ask for a room with clear glass windows. Also, request yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your varied review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed most elements of your holiday and I will pass on your kind comments to Krisztina.
Regards

Kenny Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Grand Hotel
Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing