We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel badly needs updating”
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This hotel badly needs updating”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Just got back from Exmouth Grand Hotel on a 5 day break with Shearings, firstly I must say this hotel is badly in need of redecoration, It was an old Wallace Arnold Hotel and is just across the road from Shearings other hotel The Imperial.

From the outside it looks ok, is on a mews with other hotels and houses and you have to be careful when leaving or entering the hotel as people tend to tear past in their cars.

Inside the hotel the place is spotlessly clean all the lounges clean and tidy and a nice reception area, but if you look up you will see brown stains on the ceiling where there have been leaks.

Our room although very clean and an adequate size was in desperate need of redecorating marks on the skirting boards etc and the bathroom well what can I say, absolutely Freezing!! no heating whatsoever only had a shower once during the stay as it was too cold, also the radiators in the bedroom were only luke warm but an extra free standing heater was in the room and we used that but did not reach bathroom as cable was too short, also wood work around sink was held together with black duck tape!. The water was far too hot and you needed a good amount of cold to be able to wash in it.
The room was at the back of the hotel but it was on the ground floor as we had requested a low floor room.

Having said that though you could not fault the staff at the hotel everyone was friendly, willing to assist you if you had a problem and very efficient, this was all staff, management, chamber maids and dining room staff and bar staff alike.

The food was very good always hot, good choices and served with speed and efficiency by restuarant manager Claire and her team.

The trips out were ok with a day to Tavistock, Princetown and the House of Marbles, a half day to Exeter and an optional half day round the bay finishing at Teignmouth, we chose not to go on the two half day trips and instead did our own thing, went to Paignton on the train one day and on a cruise up the river Exe with Stuartline cruises the other day Stuartline are an excellant company and would recommend them if visiting Exmouth.

The shearings driver was a good driver but told you nothing about the local area etc just got you from A to B and told you what time to be back although he was pleasent and approachable.

Also must say this hotel is not too good for people with mobility problems, steps up to hotel and dining room/ bar down a flight of stairs although there is a lift.

All in all a good holiday but don't think I would go again, if I did not to that hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheckoutChick37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    179
    111
    31
    23
See reviews for
41
291
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
darwen lancs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We have just returned from a lovely 8day trip with shearings and have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.My partner and I are in our early 50s and booked last minute for this holiday,had never heard anything about Exmouth before and didnt know quite what to expect,so it was a real treat to be so well looked after in every way.
The food was excellent,lots of choice and very well cooked.Decent portions,even for my other half who is a builder and has the appetite to match!
Each night apart from sunday,there was entertainment in the ballroom but we found the actual venue to be too warm and didnt stay in there for the whole evening.The hotel lounges were very pleasant places to chat to other guests however and as we were on the seafront,it was lovely to take a stroll before turning in for the night and we both slept well,ready for our well organised excursions the following day.If you want a good relaxing holiday,I would thoroughly recommend this one.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Have just returned from a week with Shearings to the Grand Hotel. The main rooms were very well decorated and spotless, however the ceiling in the reception area was badly stained which did not give good first impression. We had room 82 which wasn't too bad even though it was at the back of the hotel. It did have a new bathroom too. Only thing was no where at all to put toiletries. The one thing that really impressed us was the staff they were friendly, helpful and professional. Our waiter Carl was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for him. The hotel is in a lovely position nd the town centre is a pleasant stroll away. The entertainment was ok but didn't really suit us as it was mainly geared for ballroom type dancing, Would not really suit anyone with mobility problems either.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nncarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Just returned from a 5 day half board Shearings Holiday. Was allocated a room at the back of the property (room 44) What a dirty room - and its not the cleaners fault the place is falling to pieces, .I felt sorry for anybody staying in the room underneath ours as the floorboards in our room were creaking very loudly when you walked on them and must have woke people - but even the halls and landings had the same noisy floorboards. Unable to use the shower coz could not control the thermostat - I didn't want 3rd degree burns - management said they would sort it out - but they obviously didn't, the carpet was marked obviously someone tried to iron and left the iron on the floor resulting in brown stains, the dirt/mould under the taps, around the shower and pipes surely was a health hazard. I purchased bleach and cleaned (didn't look much better after but at least I knew I had done it). no shelves in shower for shampoo etc (not that this mattered coz temperature of water meant couldn't use anyway. I asked to be moved but was told that there were no more rooms - each morning I had to go downstairs to check the weather so I would know what to wear (no view from the window) just a large central heating pipe. Another couple were also at reception requesting to be moved but were told 'what do you expect for £40 a night!!!! Thats all the negative stuff out of the way. There were many happy travellers there - mainly the ones who had requested seaview rooms, the food was excellent and the service from the waitresses was excellent,Entertainment every night was ok. Shearings did some amazing tours and obviously knew their stuff - they took us to some amazing places and the scenery was awe inspiring. Recommend the day tour to Plymouth including boat trip which shows all the nuclear subs, warships etc. Then later Tavistock - a beautiful town. The hotel itself is right on the seafront - everyone I met was very friendly and I'm sure that if the room had been ok then I would have had a brilliant holiday. So if you are going to visit PLEASE ensure that you ask for a seaview room but be aware that they are small.Would recommend to a friend only when rooms have been updated substantially.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nurseynurse_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exmouth hotels

Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

This hotel is fantastic value for money. Food was good and well presented.Everywhere is very clean. The staff are amazing nothing is too much trouble. We stayed for three nights, I think you might have a problem fitting enough clothes into the wardrobe if you stayed any longer, and the bathrooms are very small, having said that we will go back again .

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maudie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

the hotel itself is newly decorated and very clean. service was very good. food was good enough. this is a sheerings hotel and the refurbishing seems to be done by a man. lack of drawers and poor lighting in the rooms. entermainent.was good. all guests seemed friendly. the tv has been removed from the lounge. management says people were falling asleep in the windows and passers bye thought it was a rest home.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pkpkBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Went with National Holidays on a 3 night all inclusive holiday. Dinner bnb & 3hrs free bar .
Hotel very welcoming friendly staff all apeared to be polish and very friendly.
Breakfast 3 course,dinner 3 course good choice of food not large portions but enough.
Rooms adequit all ensuit with tea/coffee making facilities.
This hotel is right on the sea front with great views

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DavyleeSpennymoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Grand Hotel
Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing