We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely

It’s a lovely place, well kept. I spent a lot of my time volunteering at the hawkridge bird of prey... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
_brxdie
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
This is next to haven park and is fab with all of the family. You can go round on the train and feed the animals.

Weve had a fab day out here, its great for all the family. Theres a shop for the odd gift or two... read more

Reviewed 9 January 2019
Arthur R
Read all 967 reviews
  
Reviews (967)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveller rating
644
226
67
11
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
644
226
67
11
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deer train goat pirate ship ferret racing soft play tractor ride devon cliffs birds of prey all ages vintage cars falconry display bouncy castle bottle feeding bird show lots of play areas farm animals zip wire
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 967 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We visited WOCL yesterday, Sunday 15th July, and we loved it. There was 4 adults (1 in a wheelchair) and 3 under 3’s. The day was brilliant, and it was remarkably quiet for such nice weather. There was plenty to do and we ended up staying for the whole day until just before it closed, which is unlike us to be out past 3pm. There was an abundance of indoor and outdoor play activities; plenty of animals to see and feed; falcon display; deer safari; ferret racing; old vehicles; old life museum; and a good little cafe and food kiosks (serving ice cream). The service was great, staff were polite and very helpful, and the price was very reasonable, even in the gift shop!
My 2 (nearly 3) year old loved all the play opportunities and loved everything. And there was still plenty of opportunities for play for the one year old and 9 month old in our party. Everything was clean and tidy, toilets were clean. Food at the cafe was excellent, we were even provided with a spray bottle in case any seagulls got too close and tried to pinch our food! The adults had just as much fun as the children, and the only slight downside was it was on a slight hill so the adult in the wheelchair needed a bit of help getting up to the top. But it was completely accessible for them. If I wasn’t on holiday and lived closer I would have definitely purchased a year pass as we all had such a great time!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank rachaelsandisonbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWoCL, Manager at World of Country Life, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

What a super review! Awesome to hear you all enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We found this place online when reviewing places where we could take our granddaughter out and we were so impressed with the place we upgraded to an annual pass, we can't believe that we have visited Exmouth / Sandy Bay so many times and we hadn't heard about it before now. there is far to much to do and see in one day even though we arrived when it opened at 10am and left when it closed at 5pm I would say we covered about half the place but this is a pure guess as we can't be certain. The facilities are clean and tidy and the toilet facilities are all around the site there are plenty of places for food and drinks which were very reasonably priced as were the ice-creams, and again clean and well presented, there are also plenty of places around the site for picnics if this is your preferred day out! The only extra's to pay for once inside the gate is the safari train where you get up close to and feed the animals with the food provided by the driver, @ £1-50 PP per ride but well worth the experience, and the electric Go-karts at the normal price of £1 per session. Our granddaughter fed bottled milk to both the sheep and calves which took place 3 times throughout the day she also had hands on experience with the smaller animals Rabbits, Guinea pigs and Hedgehog's supervised of course! you can also experience being walked by a goat (although I believe it was supposed to be the other way round) there was so much to do she came away exhausted and can't wait to return which will be sooner rather than later?
The whole place is wheelchair friendly although there are a few steep places! all the catering places are 5* rated and quite rightly so, the staff are of all ages but very polite and helpful in every way and keep the whole place to a very very high standard cleaning up throughout the day where required. The exhibition's are stacked full of memorabilia that will take us older ones back in time and was great fun explaining their functions to the granddaughter ! so much more to see and do on the whole site can't wait to return ?
If you book your tickets online there is a discount, and carers go in free and then if like us you choose to upgrade to an annual pass the price of your day tickets are taken off the final price, the annual pass also includes a 10% discount in the catering facilities and shop and also in the oceanic facility on Exmouth seafront!! I believe it also entitles you to 5 Safari train rides free ? so as long as you visit more than three times throughout the year your in profit ?
We came away totally stunned that we live so close and yet hadn't heard of the place previously and to think it's been open 40years was unbelievable? It is being upgrade on an annual basis so as you can imagine is good modern facilities.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWoCL, Manager at World of Country Life, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Wow, what a fantastic and comprehensive review! So great to hear you enjoyed your visit so much you became members! Thanks for an awesome review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

World of country life is great fun. Lots of things to do. Fun atmosphere. Really good fun, untill we went to the food barn. The service was disgraceful. Food was disgusting. When we ordered food the girl behind the till was rude and looked awfully miserable. And very sarcastic when we asked a simple question. I think they need some more customer service skills But we didn’t let that ruin our trip. The rest of the day at the world of country life was fantastic and full of fun.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Rachelwilliams9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWoCL, Manager at World of Country Life, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit. Sorry to hear your experience at the Food Barn was anything less than excellent. Our team work really hard to ensure we're serving great food. Thanks for the review and feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

I never thought we can feed baby animals, such a fun. All day in here is newer enough... Looking forward to come back.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Paulina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWoCL, Manager at World of Country Life, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We've been staying at the Devon cliffs holiday park this week and decided to visit today. We go regularly to parks similar in the Midlands and this one is by far the best we've been to. We have a 1 and 3 year old and there is so much for them to do, we were the first in the park and didn't leave until 5pm but that was only because the kids were tired. It's so clean and new and there's so much for the adults too. My husband loved the huge wooden harvester and all the vintage things. I've never been to a park before that caters for all ages, even the retired would love it!
The deer train was incredible so it's definitely worth paying the £1.50 to do that, and the goat walking and ferrit racing were funny. The bird show was more suited for adults and quite a few of the kids got bored so next time I don't think we'd do that.
It's just such a nice park and if we lived nearer we would definitely buy yearly passes but unfortunately we live 4hrs away :(
Most of the staff are super friendly too, and they seemed to really care. The lady that did the goat walking was a little grumpy, wasn't too good with kids and seemed to find the experience stressful but thats the only negative thing I could possibly say. Lovely atmosphere and I hope we can visit again next year.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Hayley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWoCL, Manager at World of Country Life, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Wow, what a great review! Fantastic to hear you all enjoyed your visit. Thanks for the super review and feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon - you could always move closer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews