We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying visit with lunch & dinner”

The Chronicle Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flying visit with lunch & dinner”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

It was my first visit to Exmouth and The Chronicle came recomended. Having prebooked for lunch, my client and I were warmly greeted when we arrived and shown to a private table. The two steak sandwiches arrived promptly, as did the coffee and bill, which allowed a quick return to our number crunching. Impressed, we returned that evening with a party of 6. Allthough the restaurant was busy, the food and the service was brilliant, and after the meal, we were joined by gracious chef/owner Kathy who regaled us with stories of Swiss, London and Dublin job experiences.
The Chronicle is definitely on my list for my return trip in June.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    49
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Fabulous Food!!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We really enjoyed our Friday night meal in The Chronicle.
The Service was very efficient, informative and friendly. Exactly how it should be!
The food was amazing, it was so nice to get food that was actually fresh and the portion size was perfect!
A relaxed atmosphere enabled us to thoroughly enjoy our meals and the night overall.

Looking forward to returning to this charming restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, atmosphere and service”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I travelled with my family to Exmouth for a weekend break. After reading a few reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to dine at The Chronicle.
What a pleasant experience!
After a short wait we were shown to our table, the restaurant is quite small and intimate but very cosy and welcoming.
The owner took our order and was happy to tell us about the origin of the food and recommend wine etc, really knowledgable and warm - he is clearly very passionate about his business and rightly so.
The food was excellent, well presented, well cooked, served with just the right amount of time between each course.
The staff were friendly and attentive without being instrusive and nothing was too much trouble. We had a really lovely evening and would recommend to all.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Inca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The tastiest food in a long time”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Chronicle is a relatively new Restaurant in Exmouth. It's a jewel. The food is the tastiest I have had in a long time. Very reasonably priced.
The service was very good attentive and not overpowering.
The open haddock tartlet was beautifully presented and very well cooked.
The Rib Eye Steak had a rich flavour topped with roasted garlic pancetta and mushrooms. We don't normally eat Steak but decided to take a gamble and it paid off.
I think the Chronicle gas an excellent chef and front of house. We will definetly go back and spread the word.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JessEXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another great meal - best restaurant in Exmouth”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The whole family went for a celebratory meal recently - and we weren't disappointed. Great food, friendly and knowledgable staff and a good atmosphere.

Highlights included the scallops with black pudding mash and the liver starter - top notch cooking. The panacotta with rhubarb was also a great way to finish the meal.

We'll definitely be back (in fact I know my parents are regulars!)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DulwichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chronicle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Chronicle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing