We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening in a special restaurant.”

The Chronicle Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 128 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Cheshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A lovely evening in a special restaurant.”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had a warm welcome on arriving at this lovely little restaurant. It has a delightful seaside feel with stylish colours and fittings. We weren't certain what to expect, having been given a leaflet showing a picture of food which didn't look very appetising. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious. Nothing disappointed - from beautifully smooth chicken liver pâté to tasty duck confit. It was carefully cooked and well presented without being fussy. The food is local and all meals, including bread, produced from fresh in their kitchen. There are fish specials depending on what is available. The team are very willing to adapt menus or cook something special to suit tastes and dietary requirements. They are such lovely people who create a great atmosphere for a meal to suit any occasion. We'll be going back, now we have found them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Dream_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    51
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
tunbridge wells
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Evening out in Exmouth with family”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Booked quite late in the day, a group of eight were kindly accommodated. Although it was late and we had missed some of the "specials" there was still a good selection. The food was well cooked,and very tasty. Excellent value for money, and even with a 10% off voucher for our first visit, we decided not to use it, as it was such good value and the staff were so friendly and helpful. I have recommended other family members who live nearby to pay a visit. A real gem in Exmouth.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzytunbridgewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and accommodating staff!”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

What more can you ask? Arriving quite late in the evening meal queue we missed out on the Brill and the Sea Bass, but the Plaice and a personal choice of available vegetables and potatoes was much appreciated. The excellently managed service was noted. So, despite thinking the restaurant was the local newspaper's offices, we had a thoroughly good evening meal :) Thank you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinsonWestRiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and very good food”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

A few years ago there was not much choice of good food in Exmouth. This is what the owner also found and so opened the restaurant!

There is a simple menu, but also daily fish specials which I gather depends on what he can purchase on the day. We booked on line a few days before, and received a confirmation phone call. On arrival a warm welcome. The portitions were just about the right size, not small or overwelming, so we could also enjoy a desert (wicked chocolate and a cheese platter).

Highly recommended for good food. The prices are very fair.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_East_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant I have been to.....”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We walked past the Chronicle and thought that it looked so nice. So we decided to go in a few days later. They only use regional and fresh food. Also the chicken was free range.
So basically everything sounded the way it should sound. But since I’m really into food and cooking most of the times when I go out it ends with a big disappointment as I feel that I could have done it better or fresher.
The service was really nice and you could tell this is a restaurant by real people who love food. They knew everything about their food and since everything was super fresh they offered any variation you could think of. So I decided to have things a bit differently and it wasn’t a problem.
When the food arrived I was totally blown away. Everything tasted superb. There was nothing I could have wanted differently. Simply beautiful and great tasting food.

Usually people say if it is too good to be true it is too good to be true. In this case it is too good to be true but still it is real.

So if you happen to be or to live in Exmouth, you should go there!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chronicle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Chronicle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing