We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Fresh Fishtastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chronicle Restaurant

The Chronicle Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
penn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh Fresh Fishtastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nothing is too much trouble for Ricardo and Cathy in this little treasure trove in Exmouth. The food is delightful, there is always just enough choice but not too much..... the wine is reasonably priced but a good selection, the service is outstanding, i have never had a starter, main or dessert that i haven't loved and wanted to recreate myself if only i knew how! This is the only Restaurnat i wish there was a chain of - or at least two, the other one being in my village!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbspenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    49
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Back in Exmouth again the Chronicle is always on our advanced list of "must goes". We were not disappointed. All dishes were cooked to perfection both meat and fish. We would love to take the Chronicle home with us :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PandJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We Asked in the hotel, but had spotted this place earlier in the evening.. I'm so glad we did..A unassuming place.. service was great little touches with water and home-made bread, this may seem like the norm but you would be surprised how many places don't bother these days. The staff seemed very happy in their work very chilled with us nothing was too much trouble. Then the Food WOW couldnt fault it ..maybe not the most fancy looking food but so well cooked and seasoned.. Smoked sticky pork belly starter im a meat lover the wife wants to write her own review about the fish!!! I had the Duck Cooked to perfection with a good balance of orange flavoured fennel and a beetroot puree. Cheese for desert.. HUGE and lots of little accomplishments.. Go to this Restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hnD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful freshly cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Wonderful food, but you have to get some cash out at Tesco's Express around the corner because they don't take cards.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lovely meal, beautifully cooked. Try the John Dory fish, just perfect! Very clean and great staff...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chronicle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Chronicle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing