We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Delicious”

The Chronicle Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 142 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Another delicious meal at the Chronicle - nothing is to much trouble - if you want to mix and match and you are never disappointed - YUM!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hazel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

A menu packed with local produce, always varied and cooked to perfection by Kathy. Ricardo is always welcoming and affable but don’t mention Brexit!!
Highly recommend

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AndreaJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

It was ok.

Maybe we just didn't choose the food that others think phenomenal. The Devon Blue Souffle had a subtle taste of cheese but was totally overwhelmed by the red onion marmalade. The Wood Pigeon breast was more like a half portion, consisting of 2 small slices plus a smaller crusted end piece served with a croquette which apparently contained chestnut (according to the menu).

The duo of pork tasted of pork and was ok.

The slice of (presumably rolled) lamb shoulder of lamb tasted of lamb and was ok.

The bottle of Merlot was a bit rough but was ok.

All in all it was a pleasant evening. Nothing memorable, no wow factor, nothing awful, it was ok.

£50 for 2 courses, plus drinks (£70 including an ok bottle of wine).

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mutti120648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

I know I am a local but I can't help singing the praises of this delightful restaurant. Local produce well cooked and presented by the attentive front of house staff in welcoming surroundings.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gordonfjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Hubby booked for our wedding anniversary. We had a lovely table by the window and very much enjoyed the service and the food, although the portion was a little on the large side for us. Very friendly and professional service. The chef even provided a little 'doggy box' for me to take home as I couldn't manage part of my meal. Would recommend and would return. ;-)

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chronicle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Chronicle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing