We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant in top three in Exmouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's Restaurant - CLOSED

Michael's Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newbury UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in top three in Exmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We ate here on Wednesday evening August 10th. We have recently purchased a holiday home in Exmouth but this was our first time at Michael's. We are a family of 5 but this week only my two boys and my wife were on vacation.
Michael's decor is inviting and chic. the seats comfortable, but with only a few tables (less than thirty covers) you therefore likely need to book to secure a table.
Our service was attentive and freindly.
The food was well presented (novel at times in old fashioned jam jars), delicious and cooked perfectly. Overall a very good evening, not expensive (£115 for 4 persons including drinks) and one of the best meals we have had. Definately in my top three/four for Exmouth (Les Saveours, Chronicle + Franklins). In terms of quality and value for money this is probably the best in Exmouth.
I would rate Michael's highly and recommend to everyone, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank philhollowayinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    14
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Word-Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Had an amazing meal at 'Michael's Restaurant'. The food, the service-everything was fantastic and complete value for money. In our party we had people with allergies and also a celiac-all catered for perfectly!! Oh and a 2 yr old!! The Creme Brulee was completely different but totally gorgeous and everyone that had the Pork, said it was the best Pork ever!! Can't wait to try out the lunch menu!! Thanks Michael Balbi, Jenny Lowe & team.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamariesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable price in relaxed friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We went here on a recommendation and were very pleasantly surprised. The food was really excellent and pretty good value. Best chips I've ever had with a good steak and sublime scallops to start. Very good choices on the menu without being sp many that you doubt freshness. Chocolate tort was dense with chocolate with a great orange jelly thing (think Jaffa cake but seriously intense and delicious). The restaurant has a light airy
feel with friendly staff and is easy to get to (we came by train from Exeter which was easy and dealt with issue of who would drive). :-) would definitely go again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KenStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really fresh food and well-thought-out short menu.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We recommend this restaurant highly especially as it is in a town where fine-dining is not a priority. Only slight reservation - and that could be overcome - is that the management keep the door open (in order to attract custom as it is a rather insignificant facade?) and it can be a little chilly. It is open at lunch time for light and thoughtful food.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BonviveurExmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, Devon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fine English Cuisine at its very best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

This recently opened restaurant is warm, quaint and homely with very attentive staff, a fine decor and comfortable quiet surroundings situated just off the town centre in Exmouth, Devon. It presents a brief but very well thought out menu and, considering the high quality and presentation of the food, prices that are surprisingly reasonable.

There is an extremely varied wine and drinks menu to suit all tastes.

For starters we sampled the mackerel and for mains the butter roasted chicken and braised belly pork, with a bottle of fine Argentinian red wine that was the chefs choice. Desserts the vanilla creme brulee and cheeseboard.

Everything was top class and we would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant for fine dining and cuisine.

Altogether an excellent experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Restaurant also viewed

 
Lympstone, Exmouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing