We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simplicity is a virtue”
Review of Michael's Restaurant - CLOSED

Michael's Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“simplicity is a virtue”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Take great local ingredients, cook them with the care they deserve and then serve them up with a smile and you get my vote every time. We managed two visits here during a week in Exmouth, the first because we had read about it, the second because the first was so good!Great local mussels to start, some perfect fish (and pasta)and the the kind of chocolate mousse you usually only dream about to finish. If you are in the area give your taste buds a treat and book a table, you won't regret it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bodie8107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    14
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High quality food - frequent changes in menu - totally recommended”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visit Michaels regularly and are never disappointed. A bijou restaurant with a varied and frequently updated menu, attentive service and high quality food which is the best value in Exmouth. Foodie friends who visit are impressed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueShelley2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We'd become regulars if we were local...”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

An honest reasonably priced restaurant which serves well judged dishes from a suitably small menu.

We went for the set menu to see how it was and were pleased with outcomes:
The starters were 1. a goat's cheese panna cotta which was beautifully arranged with subtle delicate flavours and a light texture, and 2. a simple dish of local mussels with a wine cream sauce which combined correct quantities of shells with a good consistency sauce - just right for a starter.
Our mains were 1. a pork tenderloin with a fondant spud on a bed of veg and 2. pollack, crisp on the outside whilst falling into pearly flakes.
At around £18 a head and accompanied by a fairly priced Pinot Grigio, we felt we'd had good value for money.

Whilst many restaurants irritate with pretentious and over elaborate arrangements which try to cover up poor ingredients, Michael's has the confidence to let good and local ingredients speak for themselves.

If you're in the area and want to enjoy honest and well prepared dishes in a relaxed and friendly environment, give Michaels a try. We'll definitely visit again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent food, friendly staff fantastic atmosphere. I arranged a surprise party there and was impressed by the whole experience. They couldn't do enough to help and made the evening very special

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahw1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My friend and I visited the small, but perfectly formed Michael's restaurant for the first time on Friday evening. We both chose the goat's cheese pannacotta to start. It arrived decorated with pretty edible flowers and was creamy and delicious. My main course fillet of beef was tender and I could've cut it with a butter knife. while my friend's sea bass was delicate but immensely tasty. We managed to squeeze in puds of creme brulee and chocolate mousse as a divine ending to a delicious meal. The service was charming and attentive. Thank you for a fabulous evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Serenaf66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Restaurant also viewed

 
Lympstone, Exmouth
Exmouth, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing