We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Mussels!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River Exe Cafe

River Exe Cafe
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$51
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The River Exe Cafe is a floating barge just off the Ski lane on the River Exe, and is in the heart of Exmouth’s water sports fraternity, wakeboarding, waterskiing, kayaking, sailing to name just a few, however it is also situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, protected by Natural England. Open from April to September only . The Exe Estuary is home to many rare birds and creatures including Avocets, Osprey and of course our friendly grey seal. With the potential to take up to 100 people on board the Cafe has been designed very much like the “Ski in Ski out” wooden chalets found on the ski slopes of many ski resorts, but with the intention that the quality of food and service exceeds all expectations of the external look and feel. The barge has a licensed bar and covered outdoor space with heaters and indoor seating to relax well into the evening without suffering the cold. Customers to the barge really are of all ages and walks of life, ranging from the usual river users and water sports enthusiasts to bird watchers, artists and holiday makers. Special events such as birthday parties, anniversaries, stag & hen parties to corporate & team building days can be arranged. Private and exclusive use of the barge is also available.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Magnificent Mussels!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

A group of us came for my mum’s 60th birthday lunch. the trip over was great and didn’t take long at all. we were lucky with the weather that day so when we got there we had bubbles outside, watched the wind surfers and took in the atmosphere. The staff are lovely, really welcoming, chatty and give great advice on what to have. and then the food, yummy!! I had the scallops (wish I could live on those every day) followed by the mussels in cider with bacon. Best, juiciest mussels I’ve ever had, just thinking about them makes me salivate. Can’t wait to go back again, thanks guys!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    114
    44
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing views to accompany amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The trip to the River Exe Cafe is quite an experience, and once you get there you won't be disappointed. The quality of the food is amazing. Fresh fish dishes cooked to perfection and one of the best Paellas I've ever eaten!

Helpful?
Thank Albie M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Richard and his team do a great job looking after the boating public on the Exe Food is great and at a reasonable price. Service is always friendly and caring. All the visitors we have taken there have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It is lovely to have such a nice place to go in the middle of the Exe estuary with its stunning and ever changing views.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We went to the River Exe Cafe to celebrate the 30th wedding Aniversary of some close friends.

We had tried to visit the previous year on our annual trip to Exmouth but had been unable to book.

Travelled out on the water taxi (an experience on its own).

The food was excellent with the scallops and paella simply beautiful.

The owner takes great pride in visiting the tables and talking about his food and the resteraunt

Recommended to all but you may need your seasickness tablets :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PandJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food at an amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you aren't lucky enough to own your own RIB, you can easily get a water taxi from Exmouth Marina but ring ahead; if the weather is good, chances are you won't be the only person who wants to eat your lunch/dinner while sitting in the River Exe and tables get booked up pretty quick!

Rich and the team are always very welcoming, which is quite a feat considering how busy they have been over the summer of 2013. It may be the view of the river that they see every day - it's very soothing to the soul!

All food and drink has to be brought over from the mainland, apart from the fish which unsurprisingly given the location, is all locally caught and very fresh. Given the extra logistical complications, the menus are always great with something for everyone. This is down to Chris the head chef and his team, who are really passionate about what they do at the Café.

We are lucky enough to live in Topsham but when we have guests to stay, we always try to fit in a visit to the Café and they are always blown away by the whole experience.

A must for anyone who likes good, simple food, cooked well, in an astounding location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Exe Cafe also viewed

 

Been to River Exe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing