We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow X 3”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River Exe Cafe

River Exe Cafe
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$52
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The River Exe Cafe is a floating barge just off the Ski lane on the River Exe, and is in the heart of Exmouth’s water sports fraternity, wakeboarding, waterskiing, kayaking, sailing to name just a few, however it is also situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, protected by Natural England. Open from April to September only . The Exe Estuary is home to many rare birds and creatures including Avocets, Osprey and of course our friendly grey seal. With the potential to take up to 100 people on board the Cafe has been designed very much like the “Ski in Ski out” wooden chalets found on the ski slopes of many ski resorts, but with the intention that the quality of food and service exceeds all expectations of the external look and feel. The barge has a licensed bar and covered outdoor space with heaters and indoor seating to relax well into the evening without suffering the cold. Customers to the barge really are of all ages and walks of life, ranging from the usual river users and water sports enthusiasts to bird watchers, artists and holiday makers. Special events such as birthday parties, anniversaries, stag & hen parties to corporate & team building days can be arranged. Private and exclusive use of the barge is also available.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow X 3”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went to the River Exe Cafe as a special celebration of our Ruby Wedding. From the moment Dave Preece picked us up in the Puffin Water Taxi all was set fair for a great time. The sun was shining, the Exe was buzzing with activity and we were already enjoying ourselves. On arrival we were met with a smile and shown to our table overlooking the river. The menu was full of local seafood but meat too if you wanted it. We selected the seafood platter for two and the White Pebbled Wine from our local vineyard across the water on the edge of Woodbury Common. The platter duly arrived with a whole place cooked to perfection, a whole crab, smoked prawns, squid, succulent scollaps, samphire and a side dish of new potatoes , sun dried tomatoes and olives. Rick Stein eat your heart out! The Padstow experience is excellent of course but this is out of this world. It has the wow factor times three for sure. Exmouth is becoming a town where the options for fine dining are increasing. This has to be the best all round and world class. Did we enjoy ourselves - you bet!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    115
    44
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This place is unique, if you want to take your friends & family somewhere special then this is the place! The water taxi ride, the location, great food and service all make this an amazing dining experience. We were a group of 11 and were well looked after from when we arrived to when we left and all enjoyed our food. Great choice on the menu & specials board and ideal for special occasions. It was my fathers birthday and he loved it! What else can I say? We will be going back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank deej666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely food and unique setting with a laid back surf shack vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Sitting in the middle of the Exe Estuary betwixt Starcross and Exmouth this certainly must be one of the most memorable and beautiful settings anywhere in the world, particularly if you're there at sunset.
Just getting there feels like an event in itself and the gentle rocking as a speedboat or jetski goes past adds to the sense of adventure for land lubbers. Food was all beautifully presented and melt in your mouth fresh. I particularly like the emphasis on local, which stretches to drinks both alcoholic and soft and can recommend the very refreshing annings pear and mint cider. Service was friendly and unhurried with a mixed clientele - some in boho finery and others in cut off shorts. When you consider the logistics of getting everthing and everyone over by boat the team responsible should be justifiably proud. Definitely reminded me in the best way of a very fine mediteranean beach shack.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank see g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I have visited the cafe twice now. Yes it a little expensive, however, it's not just a meal it's an experience. On a sunny day the water taxi across, the helpful and friendly staff, the fresh sea air - all add up to a truly unique dinning experience for the while family.

Helpful?
Thank sazzy_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When will this place have its own TV series?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I remember them making quite a lot of noise constructing the cafe outside my parents flat in Exmouth, before it was ceremonially dragged out to the middle of the estuary. I thought to myself - Good luck with that! - knowing what weather can whip up the Exe estuary and how sceptical some people can be about something a bit different. Now I am happy to make a lot of noise myself in praise of it! It's got everything - the view, the sublime location, the unique mode of transport to get to it, a chance to have a quick whizz round the river on water skis before lunch, and, of course, great grub. It's like an ad agency has got the branding just right, without any pretention.We are regular visitors to Exmouth and I've had 3 really memorable visits here - a great BBQ in the early days when it had only just opened: delicious hot chocolate and cake after a hair raising ringo ride with my 11 year old son (Exe Wake have a base at the cafe) and most recently a fantastic supper with a very fussy friend. I chose the bouillabaisse. I've eaten hundreds (some of the best cooked by my cheffy husband!) but this was excellent - such a rich base sauce and lovely addition of samphire. My friend chose the bream - loved it. Very amusing ride back on the water taxi (they give you blankets) alongside a bunch of other diners who'd had a few! We have some funny photos If you are in the area, it's a must, if you aren't - make the journey. It's worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Exe Cafe also viewed

 

Been to River Exe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing