We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hot chocolate.... Terribly slow service”
Review of River Exe Cafe

River Exe Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
River Exe Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The River Exe Cafe is a floating barge just off the Ski lane on the River Exe, and is in the heart of Exmouth’s water sports fraternity, wakeboarding, waterskiing, kayaking, sailing to name just a few, however it is also situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, protected by Natural England. Open from April to September only . The Exe Estuary is home to many rare birds and creatures including Avocets, Osprey and of course our friendly grey seal. With the potential to take up to 100 people on board the Cafe has been designed very much like the “Ski in Ski out” wooden chalets found on the ski slopes of many ski resorts, but with the intention that the quality of food and service exceeds all expectations of the external look and feel. The barge has a licensed bar and covered outdoor space with heaters and indoor seating to relax well into the evening without suffering the cold. Customers to the barge really are of all ages and walks of life, ranging from the usual river users and water sports enthusiasts to bird watchers, artists and holiday makers. Special events such as birthday parties, anniversaries, stag & hen parties to corporate & team building days can be arranged. Private and exclusive use of the barge is also available.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hot chocolate.... Terribly slow service”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We paddled here on our paddle boards, great spot! Lovely and only spoiled by the slowness of service, up your game with the service and we will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandANixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    132
    47
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Something a bit different”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Let's face it, it's not everyday you eat on a floating platform in the middle of the estuary. It's a cafe not a restaurant but the food is of a really good standard, a decent menu and range of drinks.

Head to Exmouth Marina and catch the water taxi.

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, poor seating.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Excellent food, but terribly uncomfortable seating (folding metal chairs). I'm sure there are better garden chairs available which could be used in this exposed setting. Good menu and helpful staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonBouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rekem, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We celebrated my son's birthday with a meal at the River Exe Cafe and had a really enjoyable evening.

The boat rides were good fun and part of the quirky charm of the experience.

We had a warm welcome and very attentive service throughout our meal.

The food was delicious, we had scallops, herrings and mushroom for starters, hake, crab, mussels provencal and steak for main and finished off with cheesecak, delicious eton mess with honeycomb and a cheese board. We will definitely be back next time we are in Devon and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam_3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Another wonderful experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I visited the River Exe Cafe last September for the first time and had an excellent meal, with great service from their Team. Today we went back once more with two friends who hadn't been to the 'Cafe' before. There is always a worry if you return to a restaurant where you have great memories of a previous visit that you might be disappointed the subsequent time. In the event it was just wonderful once more and our friends loved it. Highly recommend the scallops with pork belly as a starter, both the hake and the plaice main courses, followed by either the cheesecake or the Eton Mess. The tastes, particularly of the fish, were out of this world.

And then on top of all that you have the delightful Water Taxi trip both there and back across the beautiful River Exe Estuary.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Exe Cafe also viewed

 
Exmouth, Devon
Exmouth, Devon
 

Been to River Exe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing