We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spoken

Spoken
Ranked #26 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: American, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Spoken is not a spirits bar, a cocktail bar, a cafe or a restaurant - it's a fusion of the whole lot! Oh and it's a gastro bar! We are whatever you want us to be! We have one of the largest selections of vodkas in the UK erectly standing at 186 vodkas, 160 gins, 90 rums and a whole lot more! We offer a American street food to a high standard. We have the loveliest and friendliest teams for miles and a comfortable and trendy atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you soon...
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Went to one of the acoustic Sundays, lovely setting and good food too. Music excellent and will go and see Roll with the Dice again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank YelselJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    36
    17
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Bar, Great Food, Great Service, Great Everything!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I have been moved to write this review for two reasons. Firstly because of what has been written by Dorset Man but mainly because there is nothing wrong with this bar at all!

I have been in there on many occasions, with friends, family or on my own, and whether I have visited to have a quick drink, a snack or a meal the service and food has always been exemplary. Standards are very high at Spoken and the great thing about the place is that it changes, like a chameleon throughout the day from offering superb breakfast cuisine from an early hour, through morning coffees to lunchtime trade, into afternoon tea followed by evening meals with drinks, finally ending up as the trendiest and most fashionable place to be in Exmouth.

Depending on what time FamilyManDorset visited would define whether it was noisy or not. The only reason that service would have been slow is if the place was very busy, as it is most evenings. I have found that the music is only 'loud' after around 10pm which to most people is acceptable.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this fabulous and innovative bar/cafe to anybody of any age.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnyboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Walked in for a drink after a meal and had to leave. Music far too loud and service far too slow. Obviously it's not catering for the more mature customer!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonBlueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George N, Owner at Spoken, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Many thanks for your review. You are correct, it is noisy at weekends and some people don't like noise. Some people do. Most do at Spoken because that is the product we provide on weekend nights. We would recommend returning in the morning or afternoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited spoken today for the first time. The food and cocktails were excellent. We met with the owner/ manager who was friendly and knowledgable. Very good indeed and we will be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eggs benedict”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Food was very good,staff very friendly and efficient handy location and would eat there again.Good choices on the menu would recommend to anyone going to exmouth

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spoken also viewed

 

Been to Spoken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing