We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but bad customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avanti Restaurant

Avanti Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food but bad customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Good food but 15 minutes before we left the manager (Donato) started to shout and swear at a member of his staff in the restaurant. I have no idea why, but I feel that whatever the problem was, this should have sorted out in private. I and my party found this altercation to be uncomfortable and embarrassing, After paying the bill I expressed my disappointment to what had happened to Donato, but he became aggressive to me and my family and placed all of the blame on the member of staff. Living locally in Exmouth I would never visit this restaurant again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Nicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    41
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My partner and I were staying for a week staying in Exmouth for a week. Great service, food and wine. Went twice while there. Will visit when next in Exmouth.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable food with good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We went last Saturday night as a 4. Was busy, usually a good sign. We all had fish from the specials board and was excellent. All had 3 courses and shared 2 bottles of wine , the bill was about £27 a head which I felt was good value for money in nice modern surroundings. Service was prompt without being intrusive, whatever we asked for duly arrived.

Will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very busy but serevice poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I ate here with friends as a celebration, The food was ok but we found the staff very rude and very un attentive. The place was very noisy and understaffed. wouldn't eat their again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristopherDDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“authentic italian food great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Brilliant service and try the 2 course meal with coffee at only £9.95. Very good choices for both adults and kids. Music at tad operatic but not unpleasant

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avanti Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Avanti Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing