We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Ash Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ash Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We thoroughly recommend the Ash hotel.We had spectacular sea view from our family room.Very clean & specious room.Very comfy beds.Excellent breakfast,large portion,freshly cooked & adequate for us.Always warm[heating was in our control] & plenty of hot water.Very helpful & friendly staff.We had warm welcome.Everyday clean towels.

Room Tip: Family room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spicy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

I'll do this in sections for ease of reading:
Firstly we booked 2 rooms but when we got there there was only 1 room available, after some discussions (some heated) the owner was trying to make it sound like it was our fault even though we had the proof of booking with us which clearly stated 2 rooms, he was not very helpful at all, we eventially agreed it was his problem and not ours he magically made a second room available.
So on to the next:
Room 1:
The room was advertised as a double with seperate bathroom, maybe it was our fault but by stating seperate bathroom we thought ensuite, this was not the case our bathroom was on the floor below which was far from clean (photos are provided) the room itself was small (very small) with a sink in it, the tv didn't work but was fixed when we pointed it out, the view was to an alley way at the back of the hotel, there was also damp on the ceiling.
Room 2:
We was told it was a twin with ensuite(this was the room that magically appeared) admittingly it was a twin room with ensuite but again very tiny, the ensuite had no heating which was very cold there was no windows in this room so was a depressing room to be in.
And next:
The breakfast, terrible to say the least, cheap ingredients = terrible breakfast, nothing on it was eatable except the toast which comes out with the tea at the start so would have been cold by the time the breakfast came out, when the breakfast came out i asked for more toast 20mins later it came out, the tea was nice though apart from the sugar being lumpy because the room is so damp.
One other point is that the heating is turned off at night so gets very cold also there was no hot water for a wash in the morning..
No parking available and as really hard to find in that area.
Not worthy of what they charge.
BE WARNED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Ash hotel has brilliant location, just on the promanade in Exmouth.
Just a short walk you can find a nice pub - turning left - and also there
are fish and coffee shops nearby - turning right.
Nice clean bedlinen and towels,
We stayed in a twin room with sea view; this room has a brilliant shower, the room is small
and has only one side light. (So you have to decide who is reading in the evening)
There is a TV in the room, but not easy to watch, it is standing on a low cupboard.
Everything is in walking distance.
We ha a lovely weekend in Exmouth.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cabbage57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Hotel owners very nice and will do anything to help. Very good large breakfast, however not the cleanest hotels, the bed cover was rather badly marked cupboard doors and walls not clean, if you have white then make sure it is white and not dirty marks. I am a bit of cleanliness buff so others might and obviously do think it's ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Exceptionally clean friendly guest house. Bedrooms a little dated but what a comfy bed slept so well. Excellent choice for breakfast and very good full english. Nothing was too much trouble and made to feel very welcome. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkbutterfly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed as part of a 16 person booking for a football tour on 28th July. The owner was very accommodating to the fact we were a football team on tour and as such due in late on the Saturday night.

The staff were very friendly and flexible with regard to breakfast, not everybody had the full English that comes with the room and instead we were offered bacon sandwiches.

Rooms were clean and all bar one had en suite bathrooms. The prices were the cheapest around Exmouth for B&B and for those looking for a B&B on a budget, this fits the bill.

The town is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and easy to find. There is no off street parking but a few spaces are available in local back streets.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed at the ash hotel July 2012 with the lads on football tour. On arrival the staff were very helpful and tended to our every needs. The rooms were small and basic, but very clean. Also complimentary coffee and tesco value tea bags were provided. Breakfast in the morning was very good and staff very helpful. Also I would like to take this opportunity to thank ash the owner who was a very good host and was defiantly not afraid of getting involved in the banter. Cheers guys will defiantly stay again

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank RyyyyTTttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Hotel

Address: 1 Mamhead View, Exmouth EX8 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range: £53 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ash Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a B&B accommodation , situated just on the seafront .5-7 Minutes walk from the town centre/ train station.All rooms are ensuite, except one.Free WiFi, free toiletries and free tea/ coffee making facility.Ironing facility and hair dryer on request.Most of the rooms are sea view.Sorry no parking responsibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Ash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing