We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful. Don't go there...”
Review of Ash Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ash Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Horrible small room that smelled of damp. Bathroom had no window or fan so smell in there was damp and musty. Was a downstairs room with no view and noisy people above. No chance of sleeping in as boiler came on at 6am and room was situated next to kitchen so staff were in and out banging doors. If you're put in room 4 don't expect a lie in.
Breakfast was no better, served lukewarm with cheapest sausages and bacon.
All in all not a good place to stay and would not recommend it to anyone - unless I really disliked them!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Ash Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for one night and had a warm and friendly experience. On arrival we asked where we could leave our motorbike and they offered us their secured rear yard. The room was basic but clean with lovely sheets and towels. The staff were friendly and helpful.The breakfast was lovely and plentiful. A great addition to our short break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andylizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay at this hotel after a family funeral. Arriving at 2.30 (check in from 1) we waited outside a locked door for 30 mins after calling multiple times. When we finally did get in the building the service was beyond believe. We got an apology after asking for one, and the owner showed no compassion after the tough day we had had. After nothing but rude come backs and a patronising manner, we politely
voiced we were not happy to stay, we were told he would take our money anyway. With little choice we took our room key and went to our room. To say the room is basic is generous. Although fairly clean, the light didn't work, neither did the TV, and the noise from the room next door was very loud through thin walls. All in all, just do not give this hotel your money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Not somewhere i would stay again or recommend to anyone.Breakfast booked for three days stay,only could face it once.Went to nearby cafe for breakfast after first day,room was ok but television was ancient,no hairdryer in the room,Overall a poor experience

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Convenient for the centre and just off the esplanade. Friendly family-run. Room was clean with a very comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv with Sky box, good storage with plenty of hangers. Ensuite bathroom with bath/shower and toilet. Lots of space, towels, and a few soaps etc. Full English breakfast is offered,also self-serve cereal and juice.
Only drawback is very limited secure carparking which you should reserve at time of booking. This is free but the hotel needs to know what time to expect your arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for room 9. This is on the top floor (no lift) but there is a very nice sea view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my ex Husband and our Baby. Had room upgraded to an on-suite which was nice. No cots or anything available, which was disappointing. It was clean and the owner was very friendly and welcoming. Food was good in the Morning and coffee. Cheap Teabags in the room and no Biscuits like some places have. Thought £50 was very expensive for a substandard b&b if I am honest.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Very friendly B & B.We enjoyed our stay at Ash Hotel for five days .Excellent location just on the seafront.Very clean room and very comfortable bed and especially a lovely shower.Plenty of hot water and room was hot all the time,radiator was in our control.Freshly made excellent breakfast and lots of choice.Especially we enjoyed on new year eve on the seafront and when we came back at late night at hotel,we found central heating was on.Everyday fresh and clean towels.would recommend this B & B to others and definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birmin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Hotel

Address: 1 Mamhead View, Exmouth EX8 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range: £52 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ash Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a B&B accommodation , situated just on the seafront .5-7 Minutes walk from the town centre/ train station.All rooms are ensuite, except one.Free WiFi, free toiletries and free tea/ coffee making facility.Ironing facility and hair dryer on request.Most of the rooms are sea view.Sorry no parking responsibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing