We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Ash Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ash Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Very good location .Spectacular sea view from the room.Very clean room & comfy bed.New carpet is very nice.Excellent breakfast.Very friendly host.Would come back again & recommend to all.very good value for the money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel and had to wait 10 minutes on the doorstep in wind and rain for the manager to arrive and let us in! We got shown to our room which was very very small!! The bed was meant to be a kingside and was barely a double! The sink in the room was dirty with handwash stains on it. There was cobwebs above the bed and the room was genuinely not very clean! The website states you have free wifi, we did not hae this. We chose a 'private bathroom' when booking which was based downstairs from the room, the bathroom was very cold as the windows do not shut and very dirty. The worst thing about the stay was the manager and some woman was staying in the room next to us and all we heard from them was them having sex repeatedly during the night and day! Absouloutly discusting! Would not ever recommend this place to anyone, it's a horrible place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhianne1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashhotel, Owner at Ash Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

It is not a true review.Please block this review.it is very rude and false comment on some one personality.
There were another couple stayed in their next room for 2 nights ,not the Manager .There were also other guests stayed in other rooms.
We provide the key to the guest on arrival , we are not allowed to check their room except cleaning or any complain from other guest.
This reviewer didn't make any complain during their stay.
We been on time on their arrival.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I am very discusted with the service. We were meant to have a king size bed witch it wasnt even a double. There was cobwebs the sink was dirty. And the most discusting thing ever was the manager and his lady friend were in the room next to us having sex repetedly. It was a very horrible stay wouldnt recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobylane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashhotel, Owner at Ash Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

It is not a true review.Please block this review.it is very rude and a false comment on some one personality.
There were another couple ( guests) stayed in their next door for 2 nights, not the Manager.There were also other guest stayed in other rooms.We provide the key to the guest on arrival.We are not allowed to check the room during their stay except cleaning or any complain from other guest.This reviewer didn't make any complaint during their stay.
We were on time on their arrival .
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Visiting my son, who is resident in Exmouth I arrived at this hotel for a three day stay, without a reservation. Within the Hour Ash had prepared my room and made me most welcome. The days I stayed coincided with the January storms. My bedroom windows offered a spectacular view of estuary and the waves were crashing over the sea defenses. Each morning I was served a full English breakfast which was very tasty. Ash also owns a restaurant in the centre of town, which serves excellent Indian Food. The staff who work in the restaurant are very polite and proficient. All food tasted perfect. Ash gives a 20% discount tp hotel residents which is an added bonus.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view. My room was number 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benn02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I booked this hotel 3 months in advance for one night to attend our friends' wedding. 5 days before our intended stay I received a phone call to say I had to cancel my booking as the room I had booked was undergoing refurbishment! Couldn't offer me an alternative and wasn't very apologetic. Everywhere is now fully booked and we have nowhere local to stay. I would not recommend booking this hotel as you are likely to get let down and end up sleeping in a hedge like I will be on Saturday night!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stone through from the beach and 2 minutes from town,this hotel is perfectly located.Good size room with excellent view of the sea.Breakfast was good and clean.good recommendation for value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Only stayed one night. Friendly, warm welcome. Comfortable,clean room. Excellent location on the seafront. Good breakfast. Problem late at night with hot water availability was addressed at once. Reasonable value. No reason not to recommend The Ash Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.4 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Hotel

Address: 1 Mamhead View, Exmouth EX8 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range: £53 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ash Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a B&B accommodation , situated just on the seafront .5-7 Minutes walk from the town centre/ train station.All rooms are ensuite, except one.Free WiFi, free toiletries and free tea/ coffee making facility.Ironing facility and hair dryer on request.Most of the rooms are sea view.Sorry no parking responsibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Ash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing