We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great place to stay”
Review of Ash Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ash Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Gloucester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed here last week for one night with my 2 sons. It felt like home from home. Ash and his staff were really helpful and friendly and made a lovely fuss of my children. Breakfast was fantastic - home-cooked style to order that didn't taste like any of the corporate bulk-bought stuff you would get from a large hotel chain. We had a really magical sea view and the hotel is perfectly situated for a day at the beach. And it was spotless. Thanks Ash. We also had a 20percent discount off lunch in Ash's restaurant the next day and that was one of the nicest curries I've ever had.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterLeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    23
    9
    21
See reviews for
17
61
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It is true that it is a very friendly B&B.We didn't expect as a five star hotel standard.We stayed here three days,we didn't have any problem.very nice,clean room with sea view.We got gigantic portion of breakfast on first morning,freshly cooked and well presented .

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barto201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I cannot believe the review dated 22/3/2014. . We booked the Hotel for a one night stay on 22/3/14 via Hotels.com. Yes a great location but what a waste, three times I tried to raise someone, on the third occasion a young male came out from the back wearing only a pair of shorts, after asking what we wanted and being shown paperwork he asked us if we had paid.He then stated that he new nothing there were no staff, no one was booked to stay and anyway the new owner didn't do paperwork. We waited for half an hour after he allegedly contacted 'the owner' a male turned up and a conversation took place in an unknown to me language. Both then approached and stated that no one was booked and the owner was being contacted, but their was no staff anyway. We had waited in the breakfast room we noted the tables were filthy and the areas we had visited smelt of damp, the flooring was also filthy. We were also given site of the booking diary there were no guests booked for that date, We decided to find another hotel as although they were empty we would not risk staying at such a place for our own personal health. I would be interested to know what time Jemma A arrived, because the earliest she could have booked in was 14.30 and I believe miracles in Exmouth take a little longer. We tried a number of B & B 's in the area as soon as we mentioned the Ash the feedback reflected Rhianne and tobylane in fact one B & B stated we were the fifth couple to tell a similar story. Would suggest that no one books this hotel as the place didn't appear fit for habitation,and definately we will not being using hotels.com again, they continue to advertise this hotel.and do not appear to publish adverse reviews or be easily contactable. The place was so bad I am contacting Exmouh Trading Standards and Enviromental Health

Room Tip: Go somewhere else even the street is better than what we saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exmouth hotels

Exmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Very good location .Spectacular sea view from the room.Very clean room & comfy bed.New carpet is very nice.Excellent breakfast.Very friendly host.Would come back again & recommend to all.very good value for the money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel and had to wait 10 minutes on the doorstep in wind and rain for the manager to arrive and let us in! We got shown to our room which was very very small!! The bed was meant to be a kingside and was barely a double! The sink in the room was dirty with handwash stains on it. There was cobwebs above the bed and the room was genuinely not very clean! The website states you have free wifi, we did not hae this. We chose a 'private bathroom' when booking which was based downstairs from the room, the bathroom was very cold as the windows do not shut and very dirty. The worst thing about the stay was the manager and some woman was staying in the room next to us and all we heard from them was them having sex repeatedly during the night and day! Absouloutly discusting! Would not ever recommend this place to anyone, it's a horrible place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhianne1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashhotel, Owner at Ash Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
It is not a true review.Please block this review.it is very rude and false comment on some one personality.
There were another couple stayed in their next room for 2 nights ,not the Manager .There were also other guests stayed in other rooms.
We provide the key to the guest on arrival , we are not allowed to check their room except cleaning or any complain from other guest.
This reviewer didn't make any complain during their stay.
We been on time on their arrival.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, England
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I am very discusted with the service. We were meant to have a king size bed witch it wasnt even a double. There was cobwebs the sink was dirty. And the most discusting thing ever was the manager and his lady friend were in the room next to us having sex repetedly. It was a very horrible stay wouldnt recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobylane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashhotel, Owner at Ash Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
It is not a true review.Please block this review.it is very rude and a false comment on some one personality.
There were another couple ( guests) stayed in their next door for 2 nights, not the Manager.There were also other guest stayed in other rooms.We provide the key to the guest on arrival.We are not allowed to check the room during their stay except cleaning or any complain from other guest.This reviewer didn't make any complaint during their stay.
We were on time on their arrival .
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Visiting my son, who is resident in Exmouth I arrived at this hotel for a three day stay, without a reservation. Within the Hour Ash had prepared my room and made me most welcome. The days I stayed coincided with the January storms. My bedroom windows offered a spectacular view of estuary and the waves were crashing over the sea defenses. Each morning I was served a full English breakfast which was very tasty. Ash also owns a restaurant in the centre of town, which serves excellent Indian Food. The staff who work in the restaurant are very polite and proficient. All food tasted perfect. Ash gives a 20% discount tp hotel residents which is an added bonus.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view. My room was number 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benn02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Hotel

Property: Ash Hotel
Address: 1 Mamhead View, Exmouth EX8 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ash Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a B&B accommodation , situated just on the seafront .5-7 Minutes walk from the town centre/ train station.All rooms are ensuite, except one.Free WiFi, free toiletries and free tea/ coffee making facility.Ironing facility and hair dryer on request.Most of the rooms are sea view.Sorry no parking responsibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing