We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 hour for a bacon sandwich”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Docks Cafe

Docks Cafe
Ranked #48 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Exmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1 hour for a bacon sandwich”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I live on the Exmourh marina and have always had very mixed experiences with the cafe.
A few weeks back, with the cupboards bear I decided to take my partner here for breakfast.
The cafe was not very busy at the time we ordered and the staff didnt mention any waiting time.
I enjoyed my coffee and newspaper, and then realised I had no breakfast and that I could see many unhappy faces around me with no food infront of them.
Well eventually after 57 minutes ny bacon sandwich and my partners small breakfast arrived, with no appology and no recompense offered not even a hot drink. Well never again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

an elegant fishermans cafe. superb food. good service. great prices. full of local fishermen and visitors

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalaxyMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food for teenagers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

A local cafe with locals using it, always a good sign. Nice to hear the local banter. Prices fair for the quality, wonderful burgers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bullet4491950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Epic bacon sarnies and full Englishes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stay near to the docks cafe when we're in Exmouth and love to pop over for either a sit down full english or a takeaway bacon sarnie. Good friendly service and cheap as chips.
Well recommended

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monkeychops181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“breakfast of champions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

this is a great cafe and well worth a visit if in exmouth or surrounding area (i whizz over from woodbury several miles away) but well worth the trip. this when i get down to devon, at least once a year, for a spell.

its bright, clean and friendly with great food, that easily sets you up for the day. though breakfast isnt all they do.

its usually busy, though i've never not gotten a seat, as its frequented by both tourists and locals alike. interesting some times listening to the local fishermen talking about their catches etc.

another bonus is the early opening, round 6am. classic english food, all freshly cooked to order. throw in a mug of tea, what more could you want.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Docks Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Docks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing