We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food in an informal atmosphere…”
Review of Millers Restaurant

Millers Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Hi Everyone! Food served 6pm - 9 pm Tuesday - Saturday. We have relocated from Beacon Vaults over to Millers Restaurant in High Street, Exmouth.(Previously known as Avanti). We hope you will continue to support us.Thanks Andy and Lynne x
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food in an informal atmosphere…”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Beacon Vaults is perfectly placed between the town centre and seafront, we have eaten here a number of times and no matter the size of table – the food and service has always been top notch.

After a warm welcome from Lynne & Andy upon arrival, then we enjoyed a leisurely drink in the bar before perusing the menu. A common theme here is that there was no pressure and Andy’s passion about food was evident as we chatted about his menu.

Having loved (and reviewed) Andy’s ‘Smugglers Pie’ from the mouth-watering menu before, I opted to venture onto the specials board and was easily tempted by lamb pancake roll to start followed by Pork Belly.

The light pancake roll was packed with lamb and the mango dressing complimented well. The pork belly was flavoursome and tender and was served with proper fresh veg, creamy mash and black pudding. Both dishes were presented beautifully (my photos don’t do them justice!) and very reasonably priced.

Photos:
• Lamb pancake roll
• Pork Belly
• Lasagne

This is seriously good grub and would thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExmouthColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon V, Owner at Millers Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hello Colin,

Thankyou for a great review and accompanied by photos of what you had made it even more thoughtful.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thankyou again,
Lynne and Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    94
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Having read the reviews on TA and not too many miles from Exeter, we headed off to the Beacon Vaults last saturday.
On arrival we were welcomed in a friendly manner to an almost full restaurant,and from there on in everything just got better and better. I can't fault the service and food, the starters were superb, the mains were marvellous and the pudding, well we didn't know where to pud it! There were more than ample portions but not crammed on. You should really visit here for the smoked trout alone. Good luck to Lynn and Andy who really take a lot of time and pride in their establishment. We will be back for more!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Go-Segways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon V, Owner at Millers Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hello go-segway,

Thankyou for taking the time to leave such a pleasant review.

We hope you have a great 2014 season at Go-Segway.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thankyou
Lynne and Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“BEACON VAULTS”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Enjoyed birthday celebration here; owners set up nice table for our large group; we found service good by Lynne but some food was below expectations as we had found such glowing reviews about the place from other Trip Advisor members. For example: Prawn cocktail starter was excellent; vegetarian in our group had two choices and she chose an omelet which was very ordinary and a bit dry, served with chips. Another person chose beef wellington which turned out to be chopped beef in pastry and not very tasty; cod ordered by another was poached and without much taste. Smugglers Pie got good review as did lamb curry and beef steak; I would recommend this place for friendliness and atmosphere and for average to good food. Yes, we would return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon V, Owner at Millers Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi Lindah,

Sorry you weren't completely satisfied by your visit here. All the glowing reviews you spoke about were written by people who have previously dined with us and stayed at the same accommodation that you did and were all very happy with the food, as are the vast majority of reviews left on TripAdvisor. I can only again say as i have previously that its a shame you never mentioned it when i asked 'Is everything ok with your meals?' and i was told 'Yes everything is fine'. You said the vegetarian only had 2 options, there are 2 on the starter menu and there is a basic omelette which can be varied as requested, theres also a Veg Lasagne , if told in advance when you book then anything can be arranged. The Beef Wellington is one of our specials and has stayed on 2 weeks running because of the popularity and great feedback we received and we have never had a complaint about the Cod, again a very good repeat seller.
Thanks for your comments Lynne and Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Grandaughters 12th Birthday”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great meal as usual, we always visit the Lynne & Andy when we are down in Exmouth as the food is home cooked, presented well and piping hot. Great job, We know you will keep it up.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilaryj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon V, Owner at Millers Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks Hilary, so pleased you enjoyed yet another visit to us and Exmouth and the birthday was enjoyed by all. We look forward to seeing you again soon. (Sorry for delay in reply but as you know we recently went away to get married so im trying to catch up now)
Thankyou Lynne and Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Lunch Experience”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Although we only reside 3 miles away, this was our first visit, but it won't be the last. Thanks to Lynne and Andy the food and the service was well above our expectations. After an excellent starter of whitebait, I had the smuggler's pie and my partner had the catch oi the day. Both meals were well presented,hot and full of flavour. We finished the meal with a couple of liquor coffees and, including 2 rounds of drinks, were pleasantly surprised at the overall cost.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon V, Owner at Millers Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thankyou Michael, for a lovely review. So pleased we met your expectations, we look forward to your next visit.
Lynne and Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millers Restaurant also viewed

 
Exmouth, Devon
 

Been to Millers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing