We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming staff with great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Beacon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Hitchin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Very comfy well appointed room. Staff very efficient and friendly.

Attended a conference during the day. Lunch very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denchy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    119
    68
    15
    8
See reviews for
46
145
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

After a slight mishap - we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and I cannot speak more highly of the staff who were very kind and friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable and the view was fantastic! The food was sublime especially the 2nd night which was one of the best meals I have had. Woul highly recommend anyone to stay in this family run hotel. Sylvia and Caroline

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babsandginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Royal Beacon sits high above Exmouth in a peaceful Georgian terrace, but is close to Exmouth city centre. Rooms are en suite, well-eqipped with tea-making facilities, trouser-press and modern bathroom facilities and views over the river Ex. Worth noting however that if your final destination is the other side of river - search engines don't "see" estuaries - so a distance of 3.20miles could in fact 12miles by road!

This hotel is unusual: well decorated in a rich tapestry of deep greens and reds with wood and leather everywhere and a mass of antiques (not for sale!) on show throughout. Owner managed it has clearly had money spent on it and feels loved. There is a lift, which in a Hotel of this size is a bonus and service was impeccable. The full english breakfast is exactly that and this hotel is an unusual find anywhere - but in Exmouth its unique. Only slight downside is limited hoel carpark parking - but on-street is literally right outside the hotel front door. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sijujahow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Stayed in room 310, sea view, huge bed, very nice bathroom. Did not have much contact with staff so cannot comment on service in this hotel, however people seemed pleasant and the breakfast staff were very nice. If you are older there is a slight hill when walking back to the hotel from town. Stayed on a friday and there was no noise. The hotel provide loads of info on what to do locally, and although we did not eat in the hotel the menu and food looked great and was very busy.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fac51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

The hotel location is great,

The staff were courtious and helpful.

The description and reality of the hotel matched.

Fennels food was very good but the heat in the restauarant was terrible. We all left as soon as the main course was over to sit outside and get rid of the heat stroke. (Wife then gave me loads of hassle as she fancied some of the desserts!) Price wasn't excessive for a hotel restaurant.

Breakfast was in the same location the following morning and we managed to get near a window. A much nicer meal as we weren't over heating. Breakfast had a good selection but the staff were very busy so getting their attention became a bit of a game.

The car park is non existent. It can hold 6ish cars. Pointless

The rooms are perfectly ok but old. They could do with updating. The bathroom had obviously had a face lift though. Shower good.

Would have been a 4 but for the niggles.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avatar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We loved this hotel's location. The welcome was very warm and genuine. There are older and newer rooms. We stayed in a newer room on the third floor. Whilst comfortable and clean the impression we had was the owner trying to cram too many rooms into an extension, the rooms could have been much better being a couple of feet bigger. The bathroom whilst modern was a bit of a joke and whilst a great idea in that it was a "wetroom", unfortunately, it was way too small to be effective - when you had a shower everything got wet, I mean everything (yes I did use the showercurtain). The toilet, toilet roll, the hand basin, the towels ... there was nowhere to stand to dry off. The room (for being modern) had no air conditioning and whilst the window opened the room was leeward and there was no air circulation consequently the room was very warm and uncomfortable while sleeping on occasion. Bizzare really for a seaside hotel. We dined in the attached Italian resaurant and had a first class meal, with excellent service and very good value. Breakfast was served in the hotel's other restaurant again excellent service and a first class meal. We would definitely stay here again but would request a bigger room if one was available.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RdRnnr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

large very clean room but dated, in need a of a revamp, mattres and pillows need replacing, shower poor, noisy lift next door to our room. staff very efficient apart from the grumpy barman mentioned in a previous review! attended for a wedding, must say food was excellent! limited parking but didn't cause us a problem. had to wait to be seated for breakfast, didn't bother 2nd morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsMoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Property: Royal Beacon Hotel
Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing