We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Beacon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The hotel is an old purpose build building with a lot of history to it. The gentleman in reception is one of the best I came across in a long time. Nice touches to the hotel: the rooms are upgraded but at the same time you feel the grandeur.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walker1969too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Royal Beacon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

Great location just out of the center and few minutes walk to the beach.

Very good Italian restaurant below the hotel itself and a great feel to the bar in the hotel.

Staff friendly and rooms were clean and well presented .

Did not know what to expect of Exmouth but the town was clean, as was the beach and people friendly.
Will return to spend some more time in the area when I get chance - had a great couple of days.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikie346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We really enjoyed our two night break and wished we had been able to stay longer. The bed and bath rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable, dinner in the restaurant was excellent and from a good choice. The bar was comfortably furnished and all the staff were attentive and pleasant. Pity about the parking but that's the fault of the builder in 1810!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monron9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Coming from the states, our daughter and future son-in-law choose the Royal Beacon for their wedding reception. We booked several rooms for the wedding party and upon our arrival we understood why this was at the top of their list. We were greated by Ross, and we thrilled all our rooms had a magnificent sea view. The location was perfect, as we could walk to all the shops, the beach, and restaurants in town (no need for cabs). The staff attended to our every need, and they more than willing to accommodate all the last minute details. The recepetion far exceeded our expectations and the menu was delicious!! We hope to return the next time we are in Exmouth!

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to the sea view rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRB625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed in room 210 on 2nd floor wonderful sea views, large room with twin beds. We loved this hotel, every member of staff friendly, efficient and helpful. Food excellent, very large portions, everything you could want for breakfast, the food was so good we ate there every night of our stay. Hotel had a lot of character, very peaceful and laid back but very professional. Yes parking very limited in their carpark but plenty of parking on road. Yes the water pressure in the shower not brilliant but does that really matter. OK one of the rooms had a pink bathroom suite but again does that matter when eveything else was so good. If we ever have a reason to return to Exmouth I would not stay anywhere else

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Ideal location, steps leading to the beach across the road directley opposite hotel entrance, and train station just a 10 minute walk away. staff very friendly and accommodating for my baby. Very helpful. So much character to this hotel, you could spend your time looking at all the different antics. Rooms very spacious, nice bar and food is lovely. Breakfast was super and the Italian restaurant is delicious. Great value for money. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kellyoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Very comfortable and well-furnished. Seems to be a wedding-mecca; there were four celebrations that we counted in our 24 hours there. Some others may have snuck in! Don't know if they fed there, or just had their watering there, with cake -- but it did seem contagious! And happy.

The staff were wonderful. Receptionists were extremely smiley, and sincerely personable. The wait staff at breakfast were also very efficient and accommodating, and friendly. Those others who you would run into in the hallways were very helpful as well, should you need to query anything. They acted like they enjoyed being there, and that is very telling.

The breakfast was excellent, and plentiful. They did not skimp. We did not have the opportunity to take other meals there, but it seems they have a choice of eating and drinking venues.
Coffee and tea facilities in-room were fine. Lots of sugar!
No Radio: I regret that for a hotel of this caliber, and pricing level, a radio was not provided. I suppose they might have come up with one if I had requested, but when I realised it would have been nice to listen, it was too late to make a request. And we were there for just the one night. The point is, why should we have to ask. At £105 a night, it is not a B&B -- hey, even they provide radios, come to think of it.

To be more picky: I wondered if the carpet was hoovered. I had some doubt. But this is a small point. Soap and shampoos were fine.

Lots of hot water, but beware -- especially if you have younger children -- that the shower controls do not control! You'll get burned if not alert to fact that there is a delay in upping the water temp.... worse, there is a delay in the temp decreasing! Turn that nozzle away from you, do not depend on flow becoming cooler just because you manipulated the controls. And it is very very hot!

Re parking: we got the last space, in a parking lot for about 6 autos at the most. I suppose there was street parking.

All in all -- if you can afford it, and choose to stay here -- there are lots of pluses, breakfast and friendliness being the most significant. We had no choice, being latecomers to making plans for that weekend. But we enjoyed Exmouth, and our stay at RBH helped make it a happy visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Havefunwilltravel816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1.7 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £52 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing