We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Beacon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel is advertised as being the former home of Lady Nelson -- or at least their website reads that way to the uninformed. Be advised this isn't true: Lady Nelson lived in a house further down the row, so if you're looking for Nelson history, it's not at the Royal Beacon.

Having said that, I enjoyed my stay here immensely. Upon check-in, I was given a nicer room than the one I had booked (at no extra charge). There was a lift to the top floor, and my room was somewhat spacious for a historic building, with a large bathroom lit by a skylight that opened for air, and an adequate shower/tub with tasteful decoration. The room looked like it might be getting due for a renovation, but it was pleasant and comfortable, with a desk, closet, tea service complete with cookies, and large, comfortable bed. The best part of the room was the view: I had a great view of Exmouth and the stunning church a block away or so, and I could hear the church bells.

The breakfast was good, served by very nice girls -- I think I had four different people wait on me during the meal. I was even accommodated with a diet coke from the bar. Check in & out was seemless, and the staff very helpful with directions when I went into town, and with assistance on where to park.

All in all, it was a very nice place. I would definitely stay at the Royal Beacon again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RavennaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    163
    89
    24
    14
See reviews for
62
222
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hatter1985
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

First the negative. We have eaten there many many times, more about that later. We have not, however stayed. We unfortunately could only get the last remaining room over the Jubiliee holiday, it was however the same price as a sea view room. For almost £100 we were put in a travel lodge type annexe through the rear courtyard, where by the way parking was extremely limited. The room was right on the street with no footpath or garden area, with poor wooden double glazing. The traffic noise was really bad as was two drunkls coming back in the early hours. However the bed was the worse aspect, a very small double that could have been a large single. I am tall and so is my wife, but compared to some the wide people whom were staying at the same time (we could never compare in the width department) we did not fit, so how they could have is beyond me. Two kids would have struggled to sleep side by side. So in essence travel lodge on the motorway services would have been much better as far as our room was concerned.
Now the positive. The food, both breakfast and dinner was as it always has been, exceptional. We have eaten there many many times and will still do so in the future. The Maitre'D is the best I ever seen and I have stayed in really top class hotels across the continent and beyond. The food is not just superb its very, very good value for money. Our party of 18 sang its praises so much.
The hotel must up its game for accomodation, but on every other level its oustanding.

Room Tip: Get a sea view with twin beds, if you have to share for a more intimmate moment you will have as muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatter1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I hate to put this in writting, but we love this place, the Italian resteraunt is ok, but the 1810 resteraunt is great. Excellent bar with good cask beers. Love it, but please stay away????

Room Tip: No way, i know them you find out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashteroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have stayed & eaten at The Royal Beacon Hotel many times but never got around to writing a review,but after this weekends visit i thought i must.The staff are always friendly & the food in the 1810 restaurant lovely and is always very well presented,reasonably priced and a joy to eat.The food always looks delicious and is certainly second to none for a delicious Sunday lunch,the puddings are to die for. We took our friends for a meal their this weekend who are as fussy as we are about food quality,but they loved it. The views from the window tables are a joy.The bar seating area always has an ambience about it,or the window seating is great to sit & watch the world go by with the sea views.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are the best,large & sunny.The four poster bed rooms on the top floor are our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherDDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Hotel has character, good service and excellent breakfast, views from front facing rooms is amazing. Decor slightly tired but does not detract from character of hotel.

Room Tip: Front facing have excellent views of a coastline and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMGEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at the Royal Beacon for a short three night Break. My husband and I could not fault the hotel. The restaurants were first class and the staff were very friendly. It was just what we needed to get away from it all. Our room was very clean, large and on the front. I could not stop looking out of the window. It was breath taking and listen to the sea crashing on to the beach was so relaxing.It was central and a short walk from the town and the beach. Can't wait to find another few days that are free from everyday life to take up this relaxing,friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you try to get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night during a road trip through Devon and Cornwall. We had originally booked a b&B in Exmouth which was overbooked, so that the B&B owners booked the Royal Beacon for us instead. We were pleasantly surprised, as the Royal Beacon is in a much better location and is usually much more expensive. We got a family room with a big bedroom and a smaller room with a single bed off the main room. It was very spacious. The decor is traditionally English, not exactly my taste, but the room was in a good condition and everything was clean and comfortable. The hotel has a bar downstairs which is very nice for a drink before bed. The breakfast was very good as well with a buffet of cold foods, cereals and juice and a menu of hot breakfast choices. We had a very nice stay here!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1.7 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Property: Royal Beacon Hotel
Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing