We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Beacon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is set back high up from the beach and has lovely views. We stayed in a room with a four poster bed (the bed did dip in the middle) which had lovely views out to the sea.
The decor and furnishings do look tired in places - but I think this adds to the character - its a 200 year old building.
The room was very clean couldn't find fault. The staff were great and helped make our stay enjoyable.
The food was tasty and nicely and good value for money - just make sure you order vegetables as they come extra as a side dish (we didn't notice and had a meal without veg -Sunday dinner comes with veg!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireLadida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    121
    68
    15
    8
See reviews for
49
148
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have just returned from a two night break here. The first night was on our supplier, as this was a business trip, the second night we paid for as the distance from home was too far for one night for us. Our room was very spacious, we had a chunky four poster bed & large window which sadly for us looked across the car park & roof tops beyond. Very nice, big modern TV in the room. The furniture in the room was a little tired. The green carpet had seen better days, particularly in the bathroom. I still cant get accustommed to carpet in bathrooms! The bathroom suite was fully functional & very clean & the bathroom was a big space. The dark wood furniture in the bedroom was very dated & cheapened the whole room, letting it down & I question the £80pppn price because of this. The first night we had no bedspread just the white cotton bedding, which looked fine but the bedspread appeared on the second night. Would have been best left off as it had lots of holes in it that needed adressing & whilst I am sure it was clean, the holes make you think otherwise. Same with the curtains which needed a quick turn with the sewing needle. It wouldn't take a lot to sort these little things out but it would make a vast improvement & value to the room. I understand the decor being a little more rustic & the Victorian style prints on the walls suited the place. It had a cosiness about the place that we liked. The staff were all very charming. I have not a bad word for them. There was a little issue for us, that having been in the car for five hours, when we arrived at 4pm we would have really liked a sandwich & cuppa or even afternoon tea (as we were in clotted cream county) but this was not available. We had to wait until 6pm until we could get a sandwich in our room (later if we had wanted it in the bar/lounge). We would have taken a walk down to the seafront had it not been lashing it down & having managed to find a parking spot in front, we dare not move the car for fear we would not get another spot! However, these issues asside, we had an enjoyable stay. We would recommend the 1810 restaurant over the Domingos Italian one, both on site, we ate in both. The 1810 food is far superior to the Italian one, which again is a little stuck in the 1990's! To round it off, a relaxing time, cosy place but needs a bit of TLC here & there, really lovely staff, fabulous 1810 restaurant (especially sticky toffee pudding!)

Room Tip: We had room 213 which was very spacious but overlooked the car park & roof tops beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

On the first night of our stay this hotel really did have all the qualities you used to be able to get in upmarket seaside hotels. Sadly, many of them are finding it difficult to keep this level of service in these straightened times - and my fear is that the RBH is about to go the same way. As we entered the first full day of our stay we became aware that furniture, pictures and ornaments were being loaded into a truck outside. Thinking nothing of it and imagining that a refurbishment was under-way we went out for the day. We were a little surprised to learn when we returned that the removal of hotel paraphernalia was still going on and when we asked when the new bits were coming in we were informed that the hotel was in administration - and had been since December last year. Unfortunately this means that many of the lovely artefacts that produced a very luxurious atmosphere were going to be permanently missing. A great shame really because the staff are very cheery, helpful and professional. The food is first rate and the location unbeatable. I really do hope that they pull through as we would dearly love to go again at some point.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floors are the best in the house. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I have not stayed at this hotel but have often visited for breakfast. Excellent English breakfast with good views over the Exe Estuary

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onbusiness1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have just stayed here for the first time and would definitely go again. The service was first class in every respect. Reception staff were helpful and always smiling. The food, well, that was superb in both restaurants, as there is a choice of good old fashioned English or wonderful Italian, both beautifully cooked and served with a lot of attention. The views from our room were wonderful.
The young man who served us and was around most of the time, I believe his name was Ross, was great, always helpful and smiling. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Loved it. Well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: Go for seaview, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CockneyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel is advertised as being the former home of Lady Nelson -- or at least their website reads that way to the uninformed. Be advised this isn't true: Lady Nelson lived in a house further down the row, so if you're looking for Nelson history, it's not at the Royal Beacon.

Having said that, I enjoyed my stay here immensely. Upon check-in, I was given a nicer room than the one I had booked (at no extra charge). There was a lift to the top floor, and my room was somewhat spacious for a historic building, with a large bathroom lit by a skylight that opened for air, and an adequate shower/tub with tasteful decoration. The room looked like it might be getting due for a renovation, but it was pleasant and comfortable, with a desk, closet, tea service complete with cookies, and large, comfortable bed. The best part of the room was the view: I had a great view of Exmouth and the stunning church a block away or so, and I could hear the church bells.

The breakfast was good, served by very nice girls -- I think I had four different people wait on me during the meal. I was even accommodated with a diet coke from the bar. Check in & out was seemless, and the staff very helpful with directions when I went into town, and with assistance on where to park.

All in all, it was a very nice place. I would definitely stay at the Royal Beacon again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RavennaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hatter1985
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

First the negative. We have eaten there many many times, more about that later. We have not, however stayed. We unfortunately could only get the last remaining room over the Jubiliee holiday, it was however the same price as a sea view room. For almost £100 we were put in a travel lodge type annexe through the rear courtyard, where by the way parking was extremely limited. The room was right on the street with no footpath or garden area, with poor wooden double glazing. The traffic noise was really bad as was two drunkls coming back in the early hours. However the bed was the worse aspect, a very small double that could have been a large single. I am tall and so is my wife, but compared to some the wide people whom were staying at the same time (we could never compare in the width department) we did not fit, so how they could have is beyond me. Two kids would have struggled to sleep side by side. So in essence travel lodge on the motorway services would have been much better as far as our room was concerned.
Now the positive. The food, both breakfast and dinner was as it always has been, exceptional. We have eaten there many many times and will still do so in the future. The Maitre'D is the best I ever seen and I have stayed in really top class hotels across the continent and beyond. The food is not just superb its very, very good value for money. Our party of 18 sang its praises so much.
The hotel must up its game for accomodation, but on every other level its oustanding.

Room Tip: Get a sea view with twin beds, if you have to share for a more intimmate moment you will have as muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatter1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Property: Royal Beacon Hotel
Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing