We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely position, good rooms, but needs a bit of zing!”
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Beacon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“Lovely position, good rooms, but needs a bit of zing!”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Great position, although car parking is mostly "on street find you own space" in surrounding street. Spacious room overlooking the Gothic Revival church at the back (well worth a visit), but carpets so dirty - don't they know a man with a carpet shampoo machine?

We were out to dinner every night of our three here, so can't comment on that food, but the quality of breakfast left a great deal to be desired. The bacon was some of the nastiest and saltiest I have ever had, they brought my wife watery scrambled egg instead of an omelette so that went back, my kippers on another morning were as overdone as I've ever had them, the sausages tasted as if they were 99% rusk and 1% meat, and so on. Not very impressive.

Although still operating, I understand the hotel has been in the hands of Receivers for some time.

Room Tip: You pay an awful lot more for a sea view - as many of the rooms face the town. Seagulls will crap al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    141
    74
    21
    10
See reviews for
56
178
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The good points are the lovely sea views and location, bad points are that the bed was small and rock hard, hotel is very run down and my full English slithered all round the plate.

Room Tip: Ask for a decent bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our 4th annual visit to this hotel and, this time, we were saddened to see the removal of pictures, paintings and interesting antiques from the public rooms. These public rooms now look shabby and tired which is a great pity.

The main asset of this hotel is the location and views across the Estuary. Magnificent!

Another asset is the breakfast and the staff who serve it. Delicious, freshly cooked food, promptly and efficiently served.

I was saddened to discover the iron burn marks still on the bedroom carpet. However, the room was cleaned to a very good standard but, the bed pillows really do need replacing.

Room Tip: Always opt for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is set back high up from the beach and has lovely views. We stayed in a room with a four poster bed (the bed did dip in the middle) which had lovely views out to the sea.
The decor and furnishings do look tired in places - but I think this adds to the character - its a 200 year old building.
The room was very clean couldn't find fault. The staff were great and helped make our stay enjoyable.
The food was tasty and nicely and good value for money - just make sure you order vegetables as they come extra as a side dish (we didn't notice and had a meal without veg -Sunday dinner comes with veg!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireLadida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have just returned from a two night break here. The first night was on our supplier, as this was a business trip, the second night we paid for as the distance from home was too far for one night for us. Our room was very spacious, we had a chunky four poster bed & large window which sadly for us looked across the car park & roof tops beyond. Very nice, big modern TV in the room. The furniture in the room was a little tired. The green carpet had seen better days, particularly in the bathroom. I still cant get accustommed to carpet in bathrooms! The bathroom suite was fully functional & very clean & the bathroom was a big space. The dark wood furniture in the bedroom was very dated & cheapened the whole room, letting it down & I question the £80pppn price because of this. The first night we had no bedspread just the white cotton bedding, which looked fine but the bedspread appeared on the second night. Would have been best left off as it had lots of holes in it that needed adressing & whilst I am sure it was clean, the holes make you think otherwise. Same with the curtains which needed a quick turn with the sewing needle. It wouldn't take a lot to sort these little things out but it would make a vast improvement & value to the room. I understand the decor being a little more rustic & the Victorian style prints on the walls suited the place. It had a cosiness about the place that we liked. The staff were all very charming. I have not a bad word for them. There was a little issue for us, that having been in the car for five hours, when we arrived at 4pm we would have really liked a sandwich & cuppa or even afternoon tea (as we were in clotted cream county) but this was not available. We had to wait until 6pm until we could get a sandwich in our room (later if we had wanted it in the bar/lounge). We would have taken a walk down to the seafront had it not been lashing it down & having managed to find a parking spot in front, we dare not move the car for fear we would not get another spot! However, these issues asside, we had an enjoyable stay. We would recommend the 1810 restaurant over the Domingos Italian one, both on site, we ate in both. The 1810 food is far superior to the Italian one, which again is a little stuck in the 1990's! To round it off, a relaxing time, cosy place but needs a bit of TLC here & there, really lovely staff, fabulous 1810 restaurant (especially sticky toffee pudding!)

Room Tip: We had room 213 which was very spacious but overlooked the car park & roof tops beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

On the first night of our stay this hotel really did have all the qualities you used to be able to get in upmarket seaside hotels. Sadly, many of them are finding it difficult to keep this level of service in these straightened times - and my fear is that the RBH is about to go the same way. As we entered the first full day of our stay we became aware that furniture, pictures and ornaments were being loaded into a truck outside. Thinking nothing of it and imagining that a refurbishment was under-way we went out for the day. We were a little surprised to learn when we returned that the removal of hotel paraphernalia was still going on and when we asked when the new bits were coming in we were informed that the hotel was in administration - and had been since December last year. Unfortunately this means that many of the lovely artefacts that produced a very luxurious atmosphere were going to be permanently missing. A great shame really because the staff are very cheery, helpful and professional. The food is first rate and the location unbeatable. I really do hope that they pull through as we would dearly love to go again at some point.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floors are the best in the house. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I have not stayed at this hotel but have often visited for breakfast. Excellent English breakfast with good views over the Exe Estuary

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onbusiness1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.1 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Property: Royal Beacon Hotel
Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing