We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fabulous weather”
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Beacon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, fabulous weather”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Room and bathroom looked fairly new, pictures in public areas from local art group, many for sale very good idea. Staff excellent except one waitress at breakfast who needs better understanding of English and attitude.
Donato's restaurant downstairs also very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view from high up, fabulous views, they have lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann502010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    157
    85
    24
    13
See reviews for
62
211
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

booked a sea-view room here as a get-away for my wifes birthday - was a little disappointed that i had to arrange the flowers in the room separately through a local florist, but the champagne and chocolates id asked to be left in the room were quality and discretely done.. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the 1810 restaurant and hotel bar are both well worth staying in for.. only gripe is that parking can be a bit of a lottery, but good things come to those who wait..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dartmoor_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Had a fantastic couple of nights here Friday Saturday. It was a late booking so not expecting sea view. In understated way they said it wasn't a sea view but it was on the side, top floor 307, and thorough recommend. Very clean and helpful staff, very friendly atmosphere and nothing too much trouble despite being very busy with weddings and so on.
Breakfast was wonderful too!
We live in Exmouth so know all the other places. We are living overseas but came home to visit briefly so can honestly say this is the best.
We have only eaten in 1810 restaurant or had drinks with friends in the bar before now, but glad to see the same standard is in the rooms.
Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at the Royal Beacon for a three-night stay - it was lovely. A delightful room overlooking the sea. We had views over the Starcross/Dawlish coast. The hotel is clean and tidy, and we had a delicious meal at the Donantos bistro. Definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet,Essex.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We have just spent a couple of days at the Royal Beacon and have to say we were impressed. It is a typical seaside hotel but it is one that cares for its clients. We had a large well equipped sea view room at the top and the views from there were outstanding; the hotel furnishings were a little tired but the staff were not – they were all friendly and helpful. We stayed there for a wedding, dining independently in the restaurant and using the very comfortable bar on day one. The second day was the function and this was a first class reception with the hotel giving us an excellent performance including a first class meal. We enjoyed the breakfasts on offer with a full English of a very high quality. The car park at the hotel is very small and although there are plenty of parking spaces in the road you might just have a short walk

Room Tip: high floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjbcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My friend and I stopped here for lunch on the off chance. We are so pleased we did. We ate in the bar, which was tired but had lovely sea views. The Barman/waiter was excellent, we could not have wished for more attentive service (obviously he was not English!).
The food was excellent. I had the prawn and crab salad which was delicious and served with tasty warm rolls. We would definitely return and recommend.

Room Tip: Did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonHoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was my first visit to this hotel, a three night stay with my elderly mother. The views from our room were wonderful. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and beds were comfortable. Sure, the hotel looked a little tired in places but overall the food and staff made up for that. Oh, and the sun shone.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, sea view are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1.7 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Property: Royal Beacon Hotel
Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing