We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sea View”
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Beacon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Sea View”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed just one night in late August as we were attending a wedding reception on the sea front. This hotel is perfectly located and we were treated to a wonderful panoramic sea view. The room was very spacious but badly in need of a refurb. The bed was very hard, although we woke having had a good nights sleep. The bar has been modernised and was very welcoming with friendly service and good choice. Breakfast was excellent as was the service. Despite the room needing modernising we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    157
    85
    24
    13
See reviews for
62
211
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Just had a Weekend stay and had a warm welcome,car parking was good and room was ready early. The room had a great view over the seafront and was clean,comfortable although could have done with abit of a spruce up,the bed was very comfortable too.
Breakfast was very good with a great selection on offer..!! And we would highly recommend a meal in the 1810 restaurant
Where the food was very good indeed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a great location and within easy walking distance of the beach and town.



Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisGegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is quite simply the best place to go in Exmouth for Sunday lunch.
You can enjoy a pre lunch drink in the lounge first.
There is a choice of four or five starters, which are seasonal.
The main course is served with a personal side plate of vegetables, beautifully presented and always delicious.
Am often too full for a pudding, but again these are seasonal and of a very high standard.
The staff are always very attentive and helpful, especially Nico.
Not the cheapest lunch in town, but by far and away the nicest, thank you Royal Beacon.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank addicted2h01ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley west Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Hotel was booked by a company for me to whom I was visiting the following day, One is always dubious as very often one get's booked into a third rate, cheap establishment. Not this one.
The staff were very pleasant, but if I had to be critical, one of the waiting staff could have gone on a smiling course!! she was very stern which was a shame because when I got her to smile she had a lovely one. Both dinner and breakfast were lovely so no complaints there at all.
The evening took a nose dive when it came to bed time. The room was very clean and spacious ditto the bathroom, although the hot water took an age to come through to the tap. the shower was nice but, a little more pressure wouldn't have gone a miss.
It was the bed that was the let down. It looked comfy enough however there was more comfort to be had on a bed of rocks!! That coupled with the local Seagulls having choir practice ALL night just added to the nights torture!! I can admit I was ready to talk by the time dawn came!
As Han Solo said in The Empire Strikes Back. " They didn't even ask me any questions"

Room Tip: Try the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank game_richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I visited this hotel a year ago on business & was back again this year on business. Last time we stayed it apparently had not been long into administration & was being run by the administrators, I am told this has not changed & neither has the hotel decor! Our room whilst a great size was very basic & looking a bit tired, which is a real shame as the hotel could be fabulous. The staff are all brilliant & very cheerful & pleasant. The bar area is nicely decorated, as is the restaurant. We didn't go in the Italian downstairs this year as this is not open on a Sunday, instead we enjoyed a delicious meal in the main restaurant, which whilst not full, had a few tables filled & felt atmospheric. On the second night we decided to eat in the restaurant again, booking for around 7.30pm. There sadly was no atmosphere as we were the only table in the restaurant, such a shame. Food was still very good & so was the service. Our room had old teak style furniture (that's teak - not antique!!) that, whilst clean, had seen better days! The room was large with two good sized windows. I could imagine in the winter these could be quite draughty as they did not close properly, but this didn't really matter because it was around 30 degrees when we visited & the windows stayed open! The seagulls made quite a riot of noise in the early hours, but to be honest, I think that this is part of being by the seaside & I didn't mind at all & soon went back off to sleep. The bathroom was a great size, the only trouble we had was that the shower, which was over the bath, was fixed to the wall at around three foot high from the bath floor - why???!!! Fine if you are only two & a half feet tall, not so great for a five foot four sized adult!!! I am totally baffled by this as there is a beautiful glass shower screen fixed to the wall/bath so that you could have a shower! Being a shower person I did have a go at using the shower by kneeling in the bath & ducking under but I was even too tall to do this & it hurt my knees & neck!!! These small issues aside, this is a great spot, we were really fortunate with parking & got in the car park one night & down the side street on the other night. I hope that this hotel will be brought up to date not just for the sake of the customers but also for the lovely staff who work there!

Room Tip: Come in from the back of the hotel to see if any parking down side street or in car park. We found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopton
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here while traveling through the area. The hotel is very old but is lovely with much character and charm. The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room had a beautiful view of the grounds and the sea. Since there was no air conditioning on a very hot day, we asked for a fan and it was delivered immediately. The room was large and very comfortable. The light/fan in the bath was broken so we were left with a very small light over the sink in the bath. The food in the restaurant for dinner was very good but the included breakfast was not. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for just one night and was expecting it to be far better in the bedrooms. It cost £99 for the night, but don't feel it was worth it. The room was very spacious but the furniture old and tired looking. The bed did not look at all welcoming with it's plain white cover. No cushions or throw to liven it up. Although we did sleep OK to be fair.

The room was on the front and had a sea view, but the old sash windows, really rattled and banged against the frame when the wind blew and when we sat in the armchairs in the window, the draught was very bad. I tried to turn the radiator on, but it didn't come on. It was then that I noticed a load of dust on the top of the radiator which needed a really good clean.

We also had to put up with constant door banging from other guests on the same floor and could hear the people in the room above making a noise.

When I tried to draw the big curtains in the evening, they only went around the bay window so far, and had a huge gap where they would close no further. Being on the front and in view of a road and grassy area with a path opposite, it was not very ideal.

The good points, were that the downstairs public areas of the hotel was nice and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast in the dining room was 10/10. Really delicious. We have been in the hotel before for drinks in the bar and also ate at Donato's restaurant downstairs.

Luckily we have family in Exmouth who we normally stay with, but I would not stay here again for that price, as I'm sure there's other places that would be cheaper. We travel all over the country for weekends away, and at far less than that price we have had 5* rooms which were immaculate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellagio080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1.7 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Property: Royal Beacon Hotel
Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing