We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay in an okay hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Beacon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“One night stay in an okay hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel was clean and well situated, the hotel car park was quite small but there was free street parking available. The staff were friendly, we enjoyed the breakfast, however the bed was very uncomfortable but on the upside we almost got wet in the shower!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept my apologies that the bed was not to your liking. I am pleased to read you enjoyed breakfast and the friendly approach of our team.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    121
    68
    15
    8
See reviews for
49
148
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel on 17/05/14 for two nights. We were told the car park was first come first served. When we arrived there were no car park spaces and had to park in a side street, when this was mentioned to the reception we were told they had two weddings going on in the hotel thats why and weddings every weekend through the year. If you are going to stay here arrive Friday! Went to have dinner in the bar area but this was packed with wedding guests so did not eat in the hotel.
A previous entry on here stated about the annex room having a split shower holder room 507 well we had this one and yes still broke! The room was large so was the bathroom whiich was huge shame the shower was small a bit small.
The hotel is a good base for getting out and about. The room has everything you need .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Teamy
Thank you for your feedback, our car park is small, but there is ample off street parking close by. I am sorry you could not dine in the bar area, we also offer dining in our 1810 restaurant and Donato's Italian restaurant. The shower holder has now been repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I booked the Royal Beacon Hot as I had stayed there numerous times over the years but sadly the old owner has gone bankrupt and the hotel is now being run by the administrators who are obviously counting every penny and seem to have forgotten that this is supposed to be a three star hotel.

My room was so filthy that it is hard to explain so I have attached some photos and you can be your judge. Also, the hotel management in another attempt to save money have removed radiator valve so you cannot have any heating in your room, yes honestly, photos attached. I called the manager about these issues and was advised that hotel guests merely have to ask the reception staff and they will send someone to turn on the radiator and that it was not that cold plus the hotel does provide an extra blanket! Really!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Photos attached of the radiators minus the on/off valve.

As my room was one of their premier rooms I had great sea views which was nice, however, the old sash windows are rotten and to say they let in a draught was an understatement - it was like being in a wind tunnel and made the curtains move all night.

Added to this sham, you have Donatello's restaurant in the basement who's pizza's are all made from pre-purchased bases with terrible tomato sauce from a jar and cheep flavourless salami from a packet added on top. The Jalpeno peppers I ordered turned out to be green peppers but as the waitress said, it is one and the same!!!

Bottom line' do not waste your time by going to this hotel until they sell it to someone who cares about hospitality and customer care!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Charles

As a regular visitor to our hotel I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your standards. The small areas of concern, that we discussed, have now been repaired or cleaned.
Please be assured that our central heating can be switched on from reception and does not require a room visit.

I have also discussed your comments with our team in Donato's restaurant and re-training has taken place and I can assure you we use as may fresh products as possible.

We look forward to your next visit and a more positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel was in a great location, which was one of the reasons that I booked. It's withinn walking distance of the seafront, restaurants, pubs, harbour and town centre. The room was modern and clean, with tea\coffee making facility, with a good selection of choice. I didn't have much interaction with the staff - but maybe that was a good thing, as there were no problems! There was limited off-road parking, but I was able to find a place in the courtyard. The slight drawback was that breakfast was not included in the rate (at least, not the one I was sold). A breakfast might have scored this establishment a few more points, but I was able to go to a well known sandwich chain for a £2 breakfast sandwich and coffee nearby. That said, I was perfectly happy with the place, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilli05187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Chilli05187049

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on this site. It is always nice to read these comments.

Breakfast is always available to all our guests, even when staying on a room only basis.

We look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We paid a very good price and we knew we would be in what they called a 'courtyard room'. This was a room in a slight separate annexe to the main building.
The room was very spacious and very clean.
I noticed that very time a car drove passed at night it would light up the room, but this only bothered me a bit; not my husband.
I would of appreciated a slightly bigger shower and somewhere to put your shower bits; especially with the size of the bathroom.
The staff were very friendly and the hotel is in a great location to be able to walk to the shops and the sea front, but be aware the car park only takes about 6/7 cars. We were lucky and got parked in the road, but would be very concerned during the height of the season.
We did not eat at the hotel this time, but will have breakfast at the hotel next time; as we worked it out the cost would be about the same as we paid in a cafe in town. When we booked the next room in June we asked for a courtyard room again, but on the first floor.
We did find the mattress very hard and both woke up with sore backs, but it is hard to please every body with beds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jksunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear JKSunshine

Thank you for your favourable comments, it is always pleasing to read. We always provide a range of room rate offers to suit all our guests and we are delighted you chose this one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in June this year.


John E. Pye
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I know the town well & wanted to spend a couple of days away to think some stuff through. I received a good deal on-line & did not require a sea view so a 'budget' room was snatched up. I had already showered before my journey down so did not use the one in the room until the Saturday. The gripper to hold said beast up was broken & it being so powerful, one simply couldn't just put it down & verily, I had to turn it off to soap ones self up etc. "You should have said something" came a curt reply on checking out as though it was our fault? It was Saturday eve by the time I used the shower & was checking out the following morning so truly, it was not worth mentioning that late in the stay. "Surely, the previous occupant must have said something" says I? "Certainly not" was the reply. That (to me), insinuates that I broke the holder. Lovely location but with the restaurant taking last orders at 21:00 on a Saturday evening, I believe one could find a better place in Exmouth. No reading lights & indeed, no lights at head level gave the room an "institutional" feel too. You simply HAVE to care team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xanthe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Xanthe C

I was sorry to read of the problems you experienced with your shower and I can assure you this has now been repaired.

We do care for our guests and we are always delighted to assist with any requests made during your stay, there is always someone here to assist 24/7.

Nevertheless thank you for your valued comments.


John E. Pye
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Service was good before and on arrival. Courteous and warm greeting. Drinks waiting in room. So far so good.
However: possibly the worst beds I've ever sleep in, resulting in back pain today. Shower only cold, although bath ok. For £100+ really?
Curt young woman at check-out, no "how was your stay?". Would have given feedback personally, but wasn't given the chance. Hence this review.
Not impressed...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank depecheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Depecheboy

Thank you for your comments, I was sorry to read of your disappointment. Please be assured we always welcome feedback and our reception team are exceptionally good at looking after our guests and any requests made.

Please highlight your comments should you chose to return and I am sure you next visit will be an improvement.


John E. Pye
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Property: Royal Beacon Hotel
Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing