We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok even for just a drink” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Beach Cafe

South Beach Cafe
Ranked #8 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ok even for just a drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

never had a meal but worth just sitting having a beer in the pleasant scenic surroundings whist the kids play in the nearby sand pit or astro turf # relaxing

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judo-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Beach C, Public Relations Manager at South Beach Cafe, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Judo-john,

Many thanks for your excellent rating on the South Beach Cafe @ Sandy Bay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you return again.

Thanks,

Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    140
    52
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stunning views of Sandy Bay and Exmouth. The food quality matches the views. Staying on the Haven site attached visited it several times during our stay. The crab is for the brave as it comes half cracked. The fish is fresh served within 24hrs of being caught - so check which fish your being served. The service is excellent - attentive staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephendoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Beach C, Public Relations Manager at South Beach Cafe, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Stephendoms,

Many thanks for your excellent rating on the South Beach Cafe @ Sandy Bay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience including the fresh Brixham Crab. We hope to see you return again soon.

Thanks,

Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lovely cafe overlooking the beach. Happy friendly staff and great food. The home made fish pie with dill sauce was gorgeous!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Beach C, Public Relations Manager at South Beach Cafe, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Nikki T

Many thanks for your excellent rating on the South Beach Cafe @ Sandy Bay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. The fish pie is a popular choice, which I pleased to say will continue for the Summer Season.

See you again soon.

Thanks,

Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Wonderful setting , especially if the sun shines .great food well cooked good friendly service and if you just sitting outside with a drink ,even if it,s free tap water , the staff don,t harass you to leave or buy food or drink

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Beach C, Public Relations Manager at South Beach Cafe, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Philip W,

Many thanks for your excellent rating on the South Beach Cafe @ Sandy Bay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and the "wonderful setting"

Hope to see you return again.

Thanks,

Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food with amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited the South Beach Cafe on a Wednesday evening during our stay at Devon Cliffs and it turned out to be as busy as a Saturday evening! However, even with a 45 minute wait for food, the food was worth waiting for and didn't seem like 45 minutes. Our parents kindly looked after our children to give us a much welcomed couple of hours to ourself and we throughly enjoyed great food, lovely drinks on the terrace and super views, just a pity it wasn't a bit warmer! Also the staff were extremely friendly and helpful too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Beach C, Public Relations Manager at South Beach Cafe, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Sharon L,

Many thanks for your recent rating on the South Beach Cafe @ Sandy Bay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your peaceful dining experience with us and made the most of your child free night with drinks on the terrace.

We hope to see you return again and we'll try and get some of that warmer weather for you.

Thanks,

Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing