We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dunkeswell visitors”
Review of Abys

Abys
Ranked #3 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dunkeswell visitors”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

congratulatiIons to aby and his family, we have visited channel view cafe for about 19yrs al last ithey have turned it in to a welcoming place , fniendly staff , good food , excellent service . would
really recommend it. it is a change from the run of the mill cafe it used to be, well worth a visit!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    87
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Since the new owners have renovated it it has improved immensely, I would not hesitate to recommend to anybody.
The food and service are first class :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam24248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Channel View Cafe, the Esplanade, Exmouth, Devon”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

If any proof were needed that it is the vision of the proprietor and his staff that make or break a cafe, you find proof enough of this truism at the Channel View Cafe on the seafront at Exmouth in Devon. Since taking over what was a very mediocre establishment just a couple of months ago, Aby and his family have transformed it into an absolute gem - a gem of warm hospitality, brilliant service and excellent 'cafe food'. If you are seeking pretentious scoff in low lit surroundings, don't go to this cafe. If you want to be made to feel the most important person who ever graced their doors;
if you want good food at reasonable prices served by cheery and commmited staff; if you want rapid service by staff who still have time to make you feel special - even when rushed off thier feet; if you want to feel part of a brilliant 'Channel View' family - even if it is your first visit, then this is definately the place or you.
So often in Britain we are fobbed off with lacklustre service, poor value for money, and a total lack of professionism. Aby and his team have set standards that others should aim for!
.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremy346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good experience.”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We dined here as a family group of around 20 just 2 days after Christmas.

The food was good, prices very reasonable and the speedy and attentive service was the best we have encountered anywhere all year.

It was our first visit but we will certainly be happy to eat here again if we come back to Exmouth.

Good luck to all here for 2013.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AncientBritons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Service as it should be”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My daughter and I stopped here today for a drink and received a fantatic welcome despite never having been here before. The staff were all very warm and friendly and I thought the menu was reasonably priced plus the people who were eating all had delicious looking plates of food. We will visit again especially as when I took my daughter to the loo we returned to find a lollipop on the table for her. Great place in a lovely location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeychops181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abys also viewed

 

Been to Abys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing