We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience on my mothers birthday” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abys

Abys
Ranked #3 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible experience on my mothers birthday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I had set out on the winters morning with a view of a lovely lunch for my mother. However, this was not the case as on arrival i was poorly greeted my members of staff and severly dissapointed with the overall decor of the building. The food was poor and distasteful. At the end of the day, the overall experience was less than pleasing and I won't be returning again... Escpecially for any special occassions. John P

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johnp123403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    81
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cafe bistro!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I felt very sad reading the previous comment, I am certain that they are a competitor as they have also left a bad review on the beacon vaults who are also highly rated on trip advisor. I wonder who there next "catch"! Will be! I am a regular customer to this bistro and this family who own this bistro work so hard to please the community and the public with high quality home cooked food with efficient and high standards of service and do not deserve this previous comment! Her and her sister need to get there facts correct as the sausages are definitely butchers choice u will see the certificate in the bistro where they have won a gold award.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loolindy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonshire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We enjoyed lunch at this restaurant today having been recommended it by friends. It has a rustic atmosphere and offers a good choice of food. We chose from the blackboard menu and three of us enjoyed the liver, bacon, onions and mash with tasty gravy. It was well presented and a generous helping. Another of our group chose the chicken dish with roast potatoes, carrots swede and cauliflower. We all enjoyed our meal and found it to be tasty. The price was reasonable. The service was excellent and the staff friendly and polite.
This restaurant is centrally located on the seafront near to the Pavilion and opposite the beach. We were amazed to see it full at lunch time - word must have spread!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walkingwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I don't want you to visit Aby's Channel View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I enjoy visiting Abys as it is such a good place to eat and meet friends. The staff are excellent, the food is great and the location wonderful - right opposite the beach.. I almost didn't write this review as the more people who find out about this place the more popular it will become.... and I want it all for myself ! A touch of the Med. in Exmouth

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EnoughSaid009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Aby's at Channel View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Lovely atmosphere very friendly and helpful staff. Brilliant choice of food all nicely presented and very well cooked.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoanatRoseway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abys also viewed

 

Been to Abys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing