We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back...and back again!”
Review of Abys

Abys
Ranked #5 of 128 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back...and back again!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

It is over a year since I wrote a review about Aby's (Channel View Cafe) after following the family from their previous business at The Rumbling Tum in Exmouth and when they had just moved here.

I have returned a number of times over the past 12+ months, including this very morning, having enjoyed the tastiest ever bacon and egg bap and a couple of latte coffees. The whole experience just gets better and better. The premises have been redecorated, tables and chairs replaced and the level of patronage, even on a cold windy winter's morning, proves that Aby and his family must be getting something right. My friends and I have booked a table for a Christmas meal in a few week's time and we can't wait.

Finally, I must wonder how on earth Mariakap5573, below, can write such a scathing review of this business is beyond my comprehension.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    90
    25
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A first class family run friendly welcoming restaurant!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

As we live locally we regularly visit Abys for breakfast, lunch or just coffee. We are always made very welcome by the staff. It is in a great location right on the sea front and is great in the summer to sit outside and in the winter inside. Layla and Ashton are such lovely friendly people and also the owner Aby. The food is excellent and all freshly cooked. Prices are good.

The earlier review by mariakap5573 obviously has a problem with her nasty negative review and I see she has done the same to other premise. She needs careful as her comments are liable! This site is used for genuine reviews not to slander!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Abys”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have been coming to the Channel View regularly over the past 12 months and have generally found the place to welcomming, with good well priced food. We have particularly enjoyed the coffee and hot chocolate (for the kids).
We still are of the opinion that Aby's is a nice place to visit but what has happened to the coffee!
We visited on the last two Saturdays and have been very disappointed in its taste. The appearance of the Cappuccino is the same but the taste has changed! What a shame!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were taken to this restaurant, whilst on a visit to a cousin. The welcome was superb, the service excellent, and the food cannot be faulted. In the grand scheme of things these days it is not expensive and the portions are more than adequate. The variety of dishes available is extensive, all accompanied by the greatest of smiles from all the staff. Do not hesitate to visit this establishment, we shall certainly do so again. Congratulations to Aby, Leila, Ashton, Gavin & Summer. (I trust the names are correct.- if not I will check on the next visit)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Exotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much more than a beach cafe!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have called here a couple of times and the welcome is the same whether for lunch or just a coffee. Today was a windy,quite difficult walk along the seafront and the coffee and hot chocolate were particularly welcome and delicious. There seemed to be lots of local, regular visitors (always a good sign) but new visitors are treated to the same courteous welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. Just wish we lived a little bit closer!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniec3710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abys also viewed

 

Been to Abys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing