We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2011

All the nice things first staff were all helpful and friendly the restaurant brasserie 16 was very good value for money with lots to choose from and good size portions we ate in there most nights.The swiming pool was great,but the hotel it self was in need of a refit the rooms were dark and needed updateing we stayed in suite 307, would not stay there again which is a shame,because it is a Club La Costa timeshare and for me not up to standard.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroll_linge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

Have been timeshare holders at Devoncourt for some years now, we would not consider exchanging as we love it. The hotel is so relaxing set in beautiful gardens and with a stunning sea view. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel exterior may not look the most modern from the road but its charm and facilities far out ways the exterior look, the indoor and outdoor pools are lovely and the gym is equipped with the most modern equipment. The putting lawn and croquet lawn are great fun. This hotel is the essence of a quintisentially english hotel. Rooms are very clean with a daily maid service. The restaurant Brasserie 16 is the best in Exmouth and the Sunday Carvery should not be missed lots of local fresh fish on the menu too, again nothing was too much trouble for the staff here as well. Roll on next May for another lovely relaxing week at this wonderful hotel. We would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Just spent a lovely 2 nights at the Devoncourt for our first weddng anniversary. Upgraded for free to a very large Suite. Bottle of wine was a lovely surprise. Helpful staff enabled surprise flowers to be waiting for my wife. Staff made us feel as though they actually cared that we were having a nice time. Very friendly atmosphere, staff very friendly and helpful. big rooms with lovely sea views. Ate in Braaserie 16 for breakfast and a la carte meal. Very nice with great sized portions. Great ammenities including snooker room on great table for very reasonable price, Lovely indoor swimming pool and gym area, someone was even mad enough to use the outdoor pool in May!! Wish we could go away more often and would definately return again to the Devoncourt.

Room Tip: mention any special occasions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisjenny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Had a really good week, love the calmness of the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeeeesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We have been Timeshare owners for over 20 years and have never regretted our investment.
Although we have exchange to a foreign hotel a few times we have always been happy to return to the Devoncourt.The position of the Hotel with its superb outlook is ideal for all ages with easy access
to a long and flat promenade.The staff are friendly and helpfull and the Restaurant now first class.
To summarise,we would not hesitate to recommend the Devoncourt for an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangotsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devcourt, Manager at Devoncourt Resort & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

To receive such a glowing report, for all the staff particularly, is greatly appreciated.

In the Hospitality trade it is a well thought fact that

Only 1 out of 10 guests will write if they have had a positive or wonderful experience.

So, It is lovely to see, in relation to these terms, that we ARE doing the right things and people DO enjoy their stays here.

Long will we strive to make it so.

Andrew Stoneman
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stayed as part of my Time Share membership and used a room "inspected, approved and allocated by them" Really!! Room 105 should be avoided at all costs even the hotel know this! Broken toilet which smelt, shower with hole in hose, stagneant water in broken sink. This is the luxury Club la Costa advertise in their brochure! nothing refurbished since probably the 1970's, a view of a brick wall and seagull marked drain pipes, Very small lounge, atrocious lighting and no bedding for the sofa bed. Club la Costa had not mentioned to the hotel thet we needed to use it!
Hotel very staff very good and moved us the next day but Club la Costa couldn't care less and have refused to acknowledge they are mis-selling their time share holidays of luxury holidays!

Room Tip: Never take out a Club la Costa Timeshare membershp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanetG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

This was a timeshare swap with Interval International. The staff were very good and the bar & restaurant well run. We were given the keys to room no. 114.
This room was of poor quality, 1970's decor, a trinitron colour TV (1970's) and freeview box. It was dark, dingy, shabby and depressing.
There was a frequent noise day and night of running water which was pouring from a crack in the cast iron soil pipe 4m above the ground, just below and a metre to the right of our bedroom window. This disturbed our sleep and there was an occasional nauseous whiff through the open window.
The only view through the windows was of the outside walls of other rooms which formed a quadrangle which meant there was very little natural light. It had a poorly equipped kitchenette attached to it.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank timtim48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devcourt, Manager at Devoncourt Resort & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

As a hotel with a varied clientele we try to be many things to many people and most we seem to be able to look after in such a way that they return after finding the Devoncourt as they have been bowled over by the friendliness of the staff and wonderful atmosphere.

On occasions our guests come to us through third parties and these clients have varying expectations as to the sort of experience they look for. On this guests stay the room, whilst of a good size and comfortable, has very little natural light. We are very upfront and honest in what the room has within it in terms of facilities and of its outlook. We would always rather manage the expectation before a customer has arrived than after and as such, timtim48 is correct in saying that if booking through a third party it is worth checking with the hotel directly as we will always explain how the hotel room is situated so as to avoid the sort of reaction timtim48 had.

It is always good to note that the staff have excelled in their friendliness and demeanour with an overall commitment in doing that little extra for the customer so far as is possible.

The decor is not a modern style and to some this is a deal breaker but we will always be upfront and will always invite future customers to ring so that we can do our very best for them.

Many thanks

Andrew Stoneman
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
735 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £43 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site. Has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation, 'Brasserie16', serving first rate quality meals - renowned for it's excellent carvey's served on 3 days of the week. Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth,on the mouth of the River Exe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing