We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Lovely hotel but you will need a car"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Lovely hotel but you will need a car"”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We were told this hotel was a short walk from the train station - yes if you call an hours walk short! Right at the far end of exmouth. with the nearest shop at least 30 mins walk.

Aside from this I was extremely impresse with this property. We had an apartment for 4 which was absolutely lovely. Bright furnishings, spotlessly clean with fantastic views of the grounds and sea. We had a nice sunny weekend so felt as though we could stay there forever.

Breakfast was good - cold buffet and hot freshly cooked choice from the menu. Evening meal was quite expensive but very nice and convenient as walking to the nearest restaurant was out of the question.

Nice indoor pool and jacuzzi which was very warm and relaxing.

The grounds were lovely and well attended and provided a nice leisurely stroll down to the sand dunes and sea. There is open air pool that is seasonal so not available during our stay.

Would definately book again - with a car!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    285
    70
    45
    38
See reviews for
228
296
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in 2 bed apartment on B&B basis.
Best of both worlds, as the rooms were of a very generous size including a large lounge, yet we had the benefit of an excellent cooked breakfast in the restaurant each morning. Also, made use of the leisure facilities. As indicated in other posts, hotel is a bit quirky, some aspects a bit dated but at the same time service is more personal than many chain hotels. There seemed an army of cleaners sorting our room every day ! Only drawback was our room faced the car-park, subsequently told you can request sea view if available. Will definitely return, if poss.

Room Tip: request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed here for one night and really liked it. The décor is dated but cleanliness is faultless as is the customer service.

Beautiful gardens and great sea views. Probably the best word to sum up the hotel is 'characterful'.

Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jb332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have visited the Devoncourt Hotel for a number of years as a time share owner & can only give praise for the total experince, from the greeting we receive to the farewell. The staff are always pleasant & are only too pleased to assist. The cleaning is more than satisfactory and there is always tea, coffee, sugar & milk available. The towels are replaced as & when required. The gym & pools are first class as are the gardens. So we will continue to go there & enjoy.

Room Tip: the rear rooms on the higher floors have excellent seaviews and the lower rear rooms look out onto t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I recently Booked this hotel with my family for a long weekend to relax and go shopping in the nearby towns. There we 4 of us, and we got a very reasonable deal online booking directly through the hotels website, which included breakfast and use of all the spa and gym facilities.
When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who advised us where to park, as the car park was very tight and full, however there was room in the lower ground car ark.
We were given a self catering suite with a twin room and double room and two bathrooms, with a bath and shower. Being honest the room was very dated, however it was nice and clean and tidy. It was ideal for us as we had brought some food with us, so we could cook and use the kitchen facilities.
Fortunately the weather was fantastic when we arrived so we took a walk down to the beach, which was only a couple of minute walk. The seaside was fairly limited in regards to restaurants, pubs etc, however the town was also nearby which had all the usual shops and pubs.
On our return we were shown the gym and spa facilities which were great and ideal for a short stay. The gym was small and compact however very clean with many machines, the sauna, steam room and pool were also impressive.
We enede up eating at the hotels restaurant both nights and the food and service was brilliant. The desert menu is definitely recommended!
Overall we had a lovely stay and would def visit this hotel again.
Hope this helps.
Thanks

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCALewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I arrived hot and tired and badly in need of a cold drink but none was available not even cold water! The only option was luke warm tap water so we had to drive into town for a bottle of chilled. No biscuits either on the poor hospitality tray. There was a fridge in the room - how difficult would it be to provide a bottle of water, especially as the bar is closed until 6.30 pm.
The hotel is very dated, furnishings and bathroom fittings a bit shabby. Only the lovely views from the bedrooms eased the situation plus the breakfast was very good and the restaurant and bar meals too. Staff very pleasant too, so who is to blame for this lack of consideration for new arrivals?

Room Tip: Most higher rooms have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larunlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

we only stayed for 1 night whilst we attended a wedding nearby. we booked a family apartment for myself my husband, my 10 year old and 5 month old sons and we were all very pleased. The apartment was very clean, spacious and comfortable, 2 bathrooms came in very handy and a great view from the balcony of the sea. we would of happily stayed there for much longer if we could. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was perfect, two of us are vegetarian but there was plenty of choice for all of us which is something we often have difficulty finding. The only downsides were the parking which was busy but we did manage to get a space each time and from speaking to other family members who stayed in hotels nearby parking was better at the Devon court than other nearby hotels. Also for our purposes the check in could have done with being a little earlier than 2pm as the wedding started at 1:30, although i would imagine for most this would not be a problem and we knew we may have to juggle things a little when we booked. i have noticed a few comments on here about the decor and yes it is a little dated but it is clean, functional and i personally didnt have a problem with it and would say some of the comments on here are quite exagerated. As for the facilities, e.g. the tennis court, swimming pool, i cannot comment as we did not have time to use them although they did look good and didnt see any cause for complaint. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and intend to come back for a longer break next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Property: Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site Also has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation 'Brasserie16' serving excellent meals - renowned for it's excellent carveys served on 3 days of the week Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth, mouth of the River Exe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing