We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

... but as has been stated by other reviewers this place is a bit tired and dated [the room decor] And yes there was a faint musty smell along the corridors and in our room.

However on the plus side - we got a bargain - the penthouse [2 room apt] with breakfast for £90 per night [total for 5 of us]. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fantastic - they were decorating the restaurant area and this certainly seemed to be freshening the place up.

This hotel is NOT a short walk to Exmouth, and we would recommend a taxi - booked for us by reception. Please note if just getting to Exmouth centre just get the driver to drop you off before the one way system starts - then its a short walk anywhere - the 1st nigh 5 of us got a taxi for £5 whereas the second night the driver went [round the houses] and we were charged £8

Stayed at the Royal Beacon previously, however for our numbers this year that worked out too expensive and we were generally pleased with the Devoncourt and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 207 [Penthouse] was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fac51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

Been here a few times over the years with a small group of 5-6 friends. We have always had a great time here its a lovely old place with loads of character and charm. The staff are great and really friendly. There is a lovely pool, spa and Gym in the basement and it also has a full size snooker table which was great for us.
Probably not great for younger children as apart from the pool there is not much for them in the hotel but then again there is plenty to do in Exmouth.
Food in the hotel was first class could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We were told this hotel was a short walk from the train station - yes if you call an hours walk short! Right at the far end of exmouth. with the nearest shop at least 30 mins walk.

Aside from this I was extremely impresse with this property. We had an apartment for 4 which was absolutely lovely. Bright furnishings, spotlessly clean with fantastic views of the grounds and sea. We had a nice sunny weekend so felt as though we could stay there forever.

Breakfast was good - cold buffet and hot freshly cooked choice from the menu. Evening meal was quite expensive but very nice and convenient as walking to the nearest restaurant was out of the question.

Nice indoor pool and jacuzzi which was very warm and relaxing.

The grounds were lovely and well attended and provided a nice leisurely stroll down to the sand dunes and sea. There is open air pool that is seasonal so not available during our stay.

Would definately book again - with a car!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in 2 bed apartment on B&B basis.
Best of both worlds, as the rooms were of a very generous size including a large lounge, yet we had the benefit of an excellent cooked breakfast in the restaurant each morning. Also, made use of the leisure facilities. As indicated in other posts, hotel is a bit quirky, some aspects a bit dated but at the same time service is more personal than many chain hotels. There seemed an army of cleaners sorting our room every day ! Only drawback was our room faced the car-park, subsequently told you can request sea view if available. Will definitely return, if poss.

Room Tip: request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waldi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed here for one night and really liked it. The décor is dated but cleanliness is faultless as is the customer service.

Beautiful gardens and great sea views. Probably the best word to sum up the hotel is 'characterful'.

Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jb332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have visited the Devoncourt Hotel for a number of years as a time share owner & can only give praise for the total experince, from the greeting we receive to the farewell. The staff are always pleasant & are only too pleased to assist. The cleaning is more than satisfactory and there is always tea, coffee, sugar & milk available. The towels are replaced as & when required. The gym & pools are first class as are the gardens. So we will continue to go there & enjoy.

Room Tip: the rear rooms on the higher floors have excellent seaviews and the lower rear rooms look out onto t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I recently Booked this hotel with my family for a long weekend to relax and go shopping in the nearby towns. There we 4 of us, and we got a very reasonable deal online booking directly through the hotels website, which included breakfast and use of all the spa and gym facilities.
When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who advised us where to park, as the car park was very tight and full, however there was room in the lower ground car ark.
We were given a self catering suite with a twin room and double room and two bathrooms, with a bath and shower. Being honest the room was very dated, however it was nice and clean and tidy. It was ideal for us as we had brought some food with us, so we could cook and use the kitchen facilities.
Fortunately the weather was fantastic when we arrived so we took a walk down to the beach, which was only a couple of minute walk. The seaside was fairly limited in regards to restaurants, pubs etc, however the town was also nearby which had all the usual shops and pubs.
On our return we were shown the gym and spa facilities which were great and ideal for a short stay. The gym was small and compact however very clean with many machines, the sauna, steam room and pool were also impressive.
We enede up eating at the hotels restaurant both nights and the food and service was brilliant. The desert menu is definitely recommended!
Overall we had a lovely stay and would def visit this hotel again.
Hope this helps.
Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissCALewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
736 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £42 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site. Has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation, 'Brasserie16', serving first rate quality meals - renowned for it's excellent carvey's served on 3 days of the week. Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth,on the mouth of the River Exe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing