We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devoncourt Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We have been visiting the Devoncourt Hotel for 18 years and have had superb service from a friendly, helpful staff. We have always been well looked after. The swimming pool has always been well looked after and has been kept spotlessly clean. We are disappointed that we can no longer use the Penthouse suite but nevertheless look forward to future visits.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael and She... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

This hotel may not have the most up to date decor, but I had a lovely room overlooking the gardens and the sea. It was spacious, well equipped and clean. The bed very comfortable. The staff were friendly and responded to any request promptly. The food was good. The public areas were also spacious and comfortable. Thanks to Andrew and staff for making our stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea viewroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldbiddy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

On arrival was greeted by a freindly receptionist signed in and went to room, coming from this area i knew this hotel had a good repretation so what a shock when i went in the room .there was so much in there it was like a marine asault course,2 dining chairs ,2 seater settee coffee table,very large old type tv. 3 of the 4 curtains were breaking away from the curtain rails making ithard to cover the windows, i think the bed blankets were old army surplus,the carpet was three inches short at one end of room showing the floor boards and i exspect must have been twenty years old and looked it,the dining chair covers were badly stained and i could keep going. Walking with crutches i was disapointed in having to park on the road in the night time because the car park was full when i complained at reception the same freindly helpfull receptionist suddenly changed telling me it was not his fault the hotel was full and they had a funtion on and they were open to non residents so what was he ment to do,I have stayed in better quality budget hotels than this and stay in hotels approx fouty nights a year and i would say this must rate very near the worst i have used

Room Tip: Find a differant hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I think anyone going there should really do there homework. We won a voucher for a Spa Day for 4. I went with just my daughter and was very unhappy, the swimming pool was dirty the edges were green with algie, that put us off useing anything else. Reception staff need training, there was one who made us feel welcome the rest made use feel in the way. I did complain about the pool just to have a shrug of the shoulders, that says it all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hilaryj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We had use of the leisure facilities for a day we had planned some time in the gym then some lunch then a swim, jaccuzzi, sauna etc. we were actually suffering from colds so we decided to skip the gym as its quite small and hot. we got into the pool and noticed how green and slimey algae there was in this pool it made us feel uncomfortable so we got out. we chose to skip the rest of the facilities as we did not like the thought of them being as dirty. when we informed reception they looked as if we had told a huge lie and that it was not possible. Absolutely disgusting never to be repeated!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hutterd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We booked this hotel on laterooms.com and didn't really know what to expect as it was a spur of the moment decision. Then we looked at some of the comments...................Oh dear!!! But hey ho we''re off anyhow............... We rocked up at the hotel two hours early but chanced it anyway, parking, no problem although the spaces where a little small it didn't matter as we took our smaller car, happy days indeed. Initially we were allocated a room at the front but I immediately asked for a room with a view to the rear, "No problem" came the reply..................we were then given the keys to a room with a view at no extra cost :D, even happier days. We arrived at the room, opened the door and went inside...................... The kind people at the hotel had given us a wonderful suite for a couple of nights, even happier days............. Breakfast was very nice and the service very quick and courteous indeed. £6.50 for two drinks at the bar, to give you an idea of prices........... overall fantastic couple of days in what is one of Britain's most beautiful places. Thank you so much for the little break..............:) we found that all the staff were very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

There's nothing good to be said about this hotel, our stay was bad from start to end. We arrived before midnight, no spaces were available in the hotel carpark, had to park on the road. The bar was already closed. The place looked atrocious from outside as well as inside. Outdated and stinky carpets everywhere, including a fully carpeted tiny lift - carpeted on all four sides. Even a carpeted bath panel, matching the carpet on the floor of the bathroom and everywhere else in the 'suite' we stayed in. The place has not been touched since the 1970's. The bed is a nightmare: coil mattress and foam little pillows - and a tiny bed. This place still uses blankets! In pink colour! And the blanket on our bed looked decades old; really unpleasant. Breakfast was bad, cheap food; not a piece of fresh fruit in sight, and when we asked for 'an apple' we were told they had none; instead we tried the preserved fruit they had on display, which was a big mistake: one could taste the tin in the fruit. On the way out we were asked about our stay and we told the lady receptionist about our bad experience. She said nothing, no apology, no expression of regret, no offer of compensation, nothing; we were charged £139 for the night! Take it from us, do not even think of staying in this place! All you read on their webpage is unture. Even the grounds they boast about, the four acres of land, are 'maintained' in an amateur-ish way, on one side a attempt to creat a 'coffee pot' out of a hedge that went terribly wrong! And on another a failed attempt to create and archway, not to speak of the disasterous attempt to create a wave-like hedge! The location by the sea is a waste on this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1.9 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £52 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site. Has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation, 'Brasserie16', serving first rate quality meals - renowned for it's excellent carvey's served on 3 days of the week. Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth,on the mouth of the River Exe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing