We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have enjoyed staying here on 3 occasions and would recommend it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We have enjoyed staying here on 3 occasions and would recommend it.”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It is good value for money. Each time we have stayed our room was very clean with ensuite facilities overlooking a sea view. We used the swimming pool and were welcome to use other facilities. We had lovely cooked breakfasts sitting by a window looking at the sea. (Food is excellent and cooked by the Chef).- We really liked the fresh haddock with poached egg for breakfast.

We walked through the attractive grounds leading towards the beach, then strolled by the edge of the sea. All in 10 minutes from the Hotel.
It is a very good location. Has a welcoming and relaxing feel about it. It is easy to get to places like Sidmouth and Budleigh Salterton, and Exeter, to name but a few. Staff were always very friendly and so helpful too. We really like it here and will be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    299
    72
    47
    39
See reviews for
243
307
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel shows how life was in exmouth 40 years ago so is of some historical interest. The staff were really friendly and the location is ideal...quiet whilst we were there but close enough to walk to the beach and town centre. We booked here because of the swimming pool and because they had two bedroom apartments available but it took us back to the 1980's and possibly even the 1970's in places. The apartments was an excellent size with two bathrooms, a good sized lounge with kitchen and dining table, and two large bedrooms but the decor was shoddy and dated with wallpaper peeling, the bed was most uncomfortable in the main bedroom, and lots of little things were just not working properly. If the hotel could spend some money on updating this place then it would be fantastic. The pool is lovely but the gym is small and oppressive because of the wood cladding and everywhere just needs to be brought into the 21st century. Perhaps a visit from Alex Polizzi?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EddleCanard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Spent 3 nights there this week and, no complaints. Room clean & tidy with a small balcony and glorious views. Hotel dining room very good with excellent food choice. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Used the pool area. Assistant there very helpful. Pool etc very clean and attractive . Would advise taking your own beach towels.A wonderful hotel for elderly people, off peak and a delightful family holiday base. Will return.

Room Tip: A room with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Really disappointed with our stay here, primarily due to the accommodation, the staff were lovely and courteous. I've known the Devoncourt for a very long time, but this was the first time I experienced the rooms.

The hotel looks like it's been stuck in 1984, which is such a shame as it has the potential to be an amazing destination with beautiful gardens and prime location next to beach.

We had a suite and the room was so dated and felt dirty due to that, even though on the surface it was clean. The bedding was terrible, we had a sheet and a nasty looking, bobbly pink blanket that had seen much better days. On the second night we asked for a duvet and that was a big improvement. Unfortunately there was some kind of generator outside our window, so we couldn't keep the window open at night. The toilet was cracked and didn't flush properly and the shower more of a dribble.

As mentioned, the staff were lovely and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. I decided to write this as I hope the owners/ managers see that it could be an amazing place with a refresh and bit of investment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with our two sons aged 4 and 12. We had a two bed apartment facing the sea. This place ticks all the boxes, it is close to the beach and only a 10 minute stroll into town in the evening. Pool was fab as was the hot jacuzzi. Room clean and spacious and having a kitchen as well was a bonus. Overall very happy and look forward to returning hopefully in August for a whole week. Loved it! Ps staff were also very helpful

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Have been several times and had a wide range of apartments and rooms. Had a lovely stay, with fantastic sea view, several trips to indoor pool, terrific breakfasts, very good service at all times. Friendly staff, lovely room, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed in one of the spacious 2 bed apartments on the first floor overlooking the garden. Fabulous view, easy access to the sea and walking distance to Town. Great facilities where my two boys enjoyed the pool etc and we also made use of the snooker room. Weather was sunny for the whole time which capped off a lovely break. Good set up for families. We also enjoyed the hearty breakfast option and overall we thought good value for money.

Room Tip: First floor end and South facing suites are large, sunny quiet and good view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
401 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.8 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
165 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Property: Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site. Has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation, 'Brasserie16', serving first rate quality meals - renowned for it's excellent carvey's served on 3 days of the week. Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth,on the mouth of the River Exe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing