We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for seaside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very good for seaside hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Obviously an old hotel, but trying very hard. Lovely grounds and a nice walk into town if you can stand a mile or two along nice walking paths. Car parking is a bit of an issue, as a couple of times we struggled. Opted for a self catering room, but quite shocked to find the "small cleaning charge" was £25, so we opted not to use the facilities. Must say thought he upgrade was well worth it for size of room we were given. Staff all most helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    285
    70
    45
    38
See reviews for
228
296
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel provides the right environment for a very relaxing break.
All of the staff are very helpful and the the facilities are very comprehensive.
The location is second to nun with wide sweeping views over Lyme Bay.
The resturant facilities were very flexible allowing the meal to be tailored to your own requirements.the use of local fresh ingredients resulted in very tasty offerings.
As well as indoor leisure facilities this hotel has;putting green,crocquet. tennis, outdoor heated pool

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked this last minute through Late Rooms, not expecting too much because of the bargin price of £69! We arrived to a very lovely young lady on Reception who was very helpful, especially as we arrived a little later than specified. We hadn't booked either of our meals (evening dinner and breakfast) but the staff were more than accomodating. we ended up having three courses, not a single complaint had by either me or my partner. A little over priced for the food but the service was great! The room was clean and we had the most stunning view of Exmouth Bay. We had no complaints at all! Only suggest would be that the bathroom might need updating. We left for walk of the lovely gardens and the beach and were allowed to use the facilities in the afternoon even though we had checked out in the morning. Great Spa facilities available, all very modern which is a suprise for the hotel because it has a destinctly residential feel. The hotel have incredibly friendly staff who are welcoming and accommodating.

Room Tip: We had a room without a balcony but a view right across the bay. Room 109.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raychel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

very nice and warm people working there. Rooms are a bit old. breakfast is actually not that nice - selection of food is too small. Rather a hotel for retired, but some families. Close walking diszance to beach. Very nice gardens. Parking available.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeffGeiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A wonderful stay and with friendly and efficient staff. Nothing too much trouble for them. The rooms were cleaned and serviced to a very high standard.
The room was very well furnished and we had a sea view from the balcony.
As it was a special birthday for me the restaurant arranged a meal for the all the family and it was excellent.
Looking forward to staying again in September.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were a party of about 20 who were celebrating our Great Aunties Birthday at this hotel. so large in fact they had to take our dinner orders at breakfast so we could keep on schedule. I had an absolutely beautiful twin room with lovely cost beds. My Nephew was supposed to stay with me in the twin room but my snoring kept him awake, so he left to go with is Nana and Granpa in their larger room. The view from my bedroom was from the front out onto the sea and it was lovely. The food was very tasty and satisfying and the staff were not over friendly but polite and professional. One staff member in particular though is hilarious a real acerbic wit the gentleman has, just like one foot in the grave. He also does the quiz night and looks like he can't bothered to be there but that's just another of his charming wit. I would defiantly stay here again even though it's right out of town on the edge of Exmouth. Taxis are cheap and there is a
frequent bus into the town centre. Also there is a fantastic in-house hairdresses and the lady has 31 years experience under her belt. Great place, will be back when i can ;-)

Room Tip: 12 or 14 i can't remember but it overlooks the huge conservatory below and gives great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ouzodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just returned from Exmouth spent a lovely week at the Devoncourt Hotel. Large room with sea view clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. Beautiful gardens, Great food. Easy to get into town either walking or by bus.What more could you ask.!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 577anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Property: Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site Also has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation 'Brasserie16' serving excellent meals - renowned for it's excellent carveys served on 3 days of the week Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth, mouth of the River Exe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing