We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and dated room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were visiting family in the area and stayed here. Initially we booked for one night but on check-in we decided to extend another night so that we could spend more time with the family. If we had seen the room first we would not have extended.

We stayed in the Mercedes Suite which had a lounge, bathroom, bedroom and kitchenette. Upon entering the room the smell of old, musty furniture hits you. The old and oversized furniture is awful with a fireplace which looked like it was installed in the 70's. We pulled out a dining chair to find that all four chair seats were horribly stained and refused to sit on them. The carpet in the kitchenette was disgusting. To make matters worse, there is a sign in the kitchen saying that if you actually wanted to use the kitchen, there was a fee of 25 pounds!

The bedroom was nice and big and with a double and a single bed and plenty of wardrobes.

The bathroom was old, the shower water pressure was low. Little else to say.

We had our young children with us and they stayed in the main bedroom while we slept on the sofa bed in the living room. We asked reception to set it up for us while we were out, which they did but did not put any bedding on!!

We found the bedding in the bedroom wardrobe. I put on the sheet and pillow cases and it appeared to smell … not fresh. When I put on the duvet it was apparent that the whole set of bedding had been used before, judging by the 'used' smell and the hair we found on the duvet.

My husband took it to reception who were very apologetic and replaced the bedding immediately.

Despite the awful room, the staff were great. Polite, helpful and couldn't be faulted. Our son was sick in the night and a night porter kindly changed some towels for us and was very understanding.

The view from our room was delightful, with a balcony overlooking the stunning gardens but we spent as little time as we could in the actual room.

We did not use the facilities or restaurants so cannot comment on them.

Our relatives booked and paid for this hotel as a treat for us, and so we felt we could not complain but we will not stay here again which is such a shame as it has the potential to be great.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Mercedes Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamanthaEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devcourt, General Manager at Devoncourt Resort & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Samantha H

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay as fully as you would have liked however I do want to thank you for your review.

As positives, the staff were very polite and friendly, the view was stunning and the size of the room was spacious. I believe that in the height of the season when you have stayed the prices are at their peak, i.e. our Peak Season, and expectation is high. I would ask that, if you would like to call me directly, I would like to invite you back again and ensure your next stay is better.

Please call me directly at the hotel if we can help as I know we can look after you better.

Kindest regards

Andrew Stoneman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Devoncourt has been one of our family favourites for many years, with an average of three visits every year in school holiday time.
However, this review is about the restaurant in the Devoncourt. A different special every night, top class food, prepared and cooked with expertise, and served by the most engaging staff.
If you stay in the Devoncourt, it is not worth looking to eat anywhere else.
The carvery evenings are my special favourite. On Friday night, I had a huge plate of delicious Moroccan Lamb and all the different vegetables on display.
My grandchildren love eating in the restaurant.

Room Tip: High up and with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Teapot66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spent Saturday night at Devoncourt Hotel, what a disappointment after staying in a beautiful hotel in Taunton the previous night.
Couldn't check in till after 5.00 p.m. then have to be out by 1030 next morning. Rooms clean but that is only good comment. It was like going back in time to the 70's. Could feel springs through mattress, so not much sleep. £189 for a 2 x bed apartment, wish now I had checked it out first, but hey ho, too late now.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lilleelollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Having read some of the comments we feel they are over exagerated. Yes the decor is dated this cannot be denied. We have regular trips to this hotel about every 4 weeks and find it suitable for our needs and could not wish for a more friendly hotel where all of the staff are most helpful. If we do have a complaint we deal direct with the management and it is dealt with. We do not wait until we get home and write a review and complain as it is too late. The management go out of their way and are very helpful. We have not had any reason to complain in our last 10 visits. The food in the restaurant is excellent and they cater for every wish. The gardens are great with an outdoor swimming pool, putting green and tennis courts. Indoors you have the gym and indoor pool. Yes we could pick up points to be negative about but we enjoy the atmoshere and the hospitality this hotel offers. It is not the Savoy but who wants to go there anyway. This weekend the hotel was packed full so that tells its own story. We will be going back.
Clive and Sylvia Carter

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view so there is very little to coose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MoonrakerTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Booked in expecting luxury as described but on arrival very apparent it was quite the opposite ! The rooms are not only dated but dirty and falling to bits.smelly carpets and wallpaper peeling off walls broken mismatched old furniture .I refused to stay! Can't comment on service as I walked out .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devcourt, General Manager at Devoncourt Resort & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Firstly, I would just like to say it was a shame that you did not actually stay at the hotel.

As you can see from other reviewers who have stayed at the hotel, I am sure that should you have stayed, you would have had an enjoyable and relaxing break with us.
At the Devoncourt Hotel we pride ourselves on our fantastic leisure facilities such as our indoor heated pool, and providing excellent customer service.

With regards to your comments about the room itself, these are issues which will be addressed by myself and the management team. Cleanliness of the rooms is something we take pride in, in order to provide a comfortable stay for each and every one of our guests.

Should you wish to return to the lovely town of Exmouth, and choose the Devoncourt Hotel , i know that the staff will look after you to make sure you have an enjoyable stay.

Kindest Regards,

Andrew Stoneman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I booked this through booking.com because there was a special offer. I left feedback on their website and just noticed that they've not published it.
Anyway, the hotel was good and bad.
I booked an apartment so we could make breakfast in our room. However on arrival I saw that if we used the kitchen we would be charged a £25 cleaning fee. Rather a pain, because I need to eat a what-free diet and often it's easier just to make my own breakfast.
The mattresses were AWFUL. The type were you can see the springs and FEEL them all night long.
I doubled up my duvet and slept on that. Luckily it wasn't a cold night.
The outdoor pool is fantastic!
The shiatsu leg massage machine and hot tub were also lovely.
Awful view of the car park from our room.
I wouldn't return, and I only booked it because it was £69 for the apartment and because the Airbnb place I stay at (literally across the road from this hotel) wasn't available.
Excellent location for Exmouth.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MagicDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The weather was fantastic, and Exmouth at its absolute best.
The gardens were as lovely as ever, with fantastic views. The outside pool was really warm and inviting.
Yes the hotel is a bit dated, but friendlier staff and a more welcoming atmosphere would be hard to find. Nothing is too much trouble
Thank you Devoncourt Hote.

Room Tip: A sea view room is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MARYPAT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
500 reviews
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1.9 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
161 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £44 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site. Has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation, 'Brasserie16', serving first rate quality meals - renowned for it's excellent carvey's served on 3 days of the week. Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth,on the mouth of the River Exe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing