We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF YOU WANT FOUR STARS GIVE THIS A MISS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“IF YOU WANT FOUR STARS GIVE THIS A MISS”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We only wanted a 2 night stay and the hotel was busy so all that was available was a suite. We were happy to pay a bit more as the hotel looked good and suited our requirements. On entering reception we thought, oh this looks a bit scruffy. Reception staff good and gave us the key to our room. Lift out of order we walked through reception and up the stairs to our room. Our first impressions were disappointing to say the least. All areas were shabby. On opening the door to our suite, my heart sank. It was like going back to the 60's. Horrible stained suite and dark furniture in the louge. The kitchen was ok as was the bedoom although there was no TV. The bathrooms were very, very dated. The only plus side was that it was clean. We were both disappointed. We went down to reception to see if we could change but there was nothing else available. After a look around the rest of the hotel we found that it was all shabby and needed decoration. It is a shame because the location is lovely and the facilities are there but need "seeing to"!! We had dinner in the restaurant and the staff gave good friendly service. There was a varied menu and the portions were good. We then had a drink in the bar which without any warning put the shutters up at 10.30 We stayed just the one night instead 0f two possible three. We checked out the following morning and will not be going back despite the lovely location. If you are looking for a 4 star hotel do not go here!! I wish I had read the trip advisor reviews before booking, the ones on Booking Angels were quite favourable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK2JS1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    304
    75
    50
    40
See reviews for
255
316
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We booked through Club La Costa for a week. The "suite" (room 12) was small and cramped. The bathrrom was bordering on dirty when we wanted a shower in the evening we had to wait for 5 or more minutes for the water to run through. The sheets were not changed. The whole room looked as if it had not been used for a while. On one occasion some of the seats in the bar smelt of urine!!

On the plus side the staff were extremely nice and helpful. The restraunt (run by an outside company) was really good value, the food was fantastic and the staff were excellent.

Will not be going back .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jinxStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The service was helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived. The receptionist said the suite we had been given was one of the nicest in the hotel. I don't know how accurate that was as we didn't see the others, but the the one we had certainly exceeded our expectations in terms of size, amenities, comfort and outlook. We could see the extensive gardens reaching down towards the beach with an array of trees and flower beds in view. To the side we could see the tennis court and large putting green.
The restaurant was beautifully set and made a fine accompaniment to the fine dining we enjoyed. All in all a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mature_traveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh Essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Had a very pleasant 3 night stay (booked at last minute due to cancelled holiday to America thanks to Icelandic volcanic ash) at The Devoncourt. Front of hotel and reception area give a disappointing initial impression but this was more than compensated for by the excellent gardens and views at the back. The hotel is in a good location overlooking the sea with easy access to the beach. It is about a 15 minute walk to the town. It is set in beautiful grounds and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We were given a family suite which was very spacious with plenty of storage space and a wonderful view. It was also clean. The restaurant was taken over by a franchise in November 2009 and has been very tastefully refurbished. The food was good but not outstanding. As the bar is also run by the franchise, it has limited opening hours and closes at 11.00 p.m. at night. The rest of the hotel is badly in need of refurbishment but this is gradually being addressed. The outside swimming pool and surrounding area was being given a makeover while we were there and the televisions in the rooms have been upgraded recently. There was also a note in our room stating that new furniture was due to arrive. Despite this, we felt that it was very good value for money and we would probably return there.
We would thoroughly recommend a visit to 'Les Saveurs Sea Food Restaurant' in Tower Street. It is run by a Frenchman and his family and serves the most amazing food. It is the best food we have tasted in a very long time and is very good value for money. It would be worthy of a Michelin Star.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monty029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans England
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This is a traditional style seaside hotel. we stayed in family room 4 lovely views over garden and sea. Had a small kitchenette bedroom and sitting room with sofa bed.room was clean and well maintained. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, a really refreshing change from bored corporate reception staff.The breakfast was good with all items being freshly cooked.The health suite was great with both indoor and outdoor pools, tennis court, croquet lawn and lovely gardens. The lovely sandy beach is a 5 minute walk away and the town centre a 20 minute walk along the beach. Would definately go back.Our 2 girls 7 and 10 really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62MrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed here in January whilst in Exmouth for a friends wedding.
Hotel was nice, a little dated in places but fine for a one night stay. Our room turned out to be a suite with kitchenette, lounge, bathroom & large bedroom. The staff were very helpful & friendly. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We arrived on a very wet February evening, and were greeted very warmly by reception. We found we'd been booked into a suite (fantastic value - much better than local B&Bs). The decor - in common with the rest of the hotel - was a bit dated, but the sea view the following morning was simply stunning.
We went to the bar to enquire about food, only to discover we'd just missed closing time at the restaurant, and there was no room service. The bar-tender, seeing that we were a bit desperate, then amazed us by disappearing to the kitchen and running us up a first-rate toasted sandwich with salad etc.
Breakfast was in an lovely, bright spacious and comfortable dining area, and was well-cooked.
Our only real regret was that we weren't staying longer. This is a hotel whose staff have not forgotten the meaning of hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerbilator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
419 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
700 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Property: Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site. Has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation, 'Brasserie16', serving first rate quality meals - renowned for it's excellent carvey's served on 3 days of the week. Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth,on the mouth of the River Exe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing