We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean old fashion Hotel,with friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Good clean old fashion Hotel,with friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This was our third stay at this Hotel,the staff are always friendly and helpful. The decor is a little dated but does not detract from the pleasure of the experience. The room was spacious and all the appliances worked well. The view from our window out over the croquette lawn to the sea is nothing short of spectacular. There was. a well stocked bar at reasonable prices. Unable to comment on the restaurent as we did not dine there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJack325312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    289
    70
    45
    38
See reviews for
233
300
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Well after reading negative reviews was a little worried. I was given a lovely modern room which was spanking clean. Hotel was quiet so good sleep, nice bed. flat screen tv. the lounge had lovely views of the gardens and sea. Bar was fine restaurant was good. Yes loud carpets but clean. leisure facilities were fine, small pool, good steam room and sauna. They have a lift but this was out of action for a few weeks. Staff very friendly and helpful. A short walk down the hill takes you to the lovely seafront. Good experience obviously this hotel has modernised and unmodernised rooms so people should ask what they are getting. I managed to park in the car park and free WIfi was useful they also have a computer for use.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I had reasonable expectiations regarding my pending stay at the Devoncourt Hotel.

Firstly it needs modernising, its really dated the carpet requires removing all over the hotel, and relacing urgently. Plug points which have been smashed or hanging off the wall require replacing, the furniture with the glass tops need securing, its not safe for small children. The seating in the rooms need throwing out, the stains and smells coming from them are not pleasent, plus the 2x4 wood holding the seat cushions in place were found by my toddler of 21 months, I was shocked, you could have the changce of purchasing such items in the lobby too for the bargin price of £20, buyer collects... OMG.

The bedrooms/suites on the ground floor are so damp breathing in the smell is unbearable and we asked to be moved. We moved 3 times during our 2 night stay.

The bathrooms are all in need of cleaning throughly if not gutting and starting again, shower curtains need to be replaced with new hooks. Also would help if the toilets were secure to the floor, again dangerous. Maintenance in the rooms are urgently required. As a Health and Safety Officer I would give this a 3.5 out of 10 for hygene and safety reasons.

The indoor pool water and spa Ph levels reauire balancing regulary and the pool water requires emptying for the pool to be cleaned and refilled. Again very dated. Good News the pool outside looked pretty clean, no one using it though.

Overall very disapointing hotel experience, The plus side the staff are nice.

In conclusion, this hotel needs updating urgently for the money they are asking for per room per night. The Hotel Inspector is required urgently.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamCal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Our first proper family holiday for years so splashed out through 'cottages for you' on the' Devoncourt Suite' -a flat separated from the main building with a lovely view of ... the car park! over £2800 for 13 days- and we could never use said car park because it was always full!! Usually with the STAFF or non residents who were using the hotels' facilities. We could not book in until after4pm, having arrived in Exmouth at 7am .The 'suite' was clean but VERY dated and the decor can give you a migraine with the terrible mix of patterns. We had hoped for somewhere quieter but were regularly woken in the night or early hours by van deliveries to the restaurant with rattling trollies etc, and waste collections (our bathroom overlooked the main rubbish store!)
We gathered that many -if not all of the suites are owned on some sort of time share -so any problems seem not to be the concern of the management (by the way who are they -we never saw them!). Hotel lounge seats extremely stained and dirty. Overall a huge disappointment for the money that we paid. Restaurant not too bad and the only clean looking room in the main hotel. Leisure facilities housed in dark, pokey basement of the hotel are in dire need of re-design.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8e19888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We only wanted a 2 night stay and the hotel was busy so all that was available was a suite. We were happy to pay a bit more as the hotel looked good and suited our requirements. On entering reception we thought, oh this looks a bit scruffy. Reception staff good and gave us the key to our room. Lift out of order we walked through reception and up the stairs to our room. Our first impressions were disappointing to say the least. All areas were shabby. On opening the door to our suite, my heart sank. It was like going back to the 60's. Horrible stained suite and dark furniture in the louge. The kitchen was ok as was the bedoom although there was no TV. The bathrooms were very, very dated. The only plus side was that it was clean. We were both disappointed. We went down to reception to see if we could change but there was nothing else available. After a look around the rest of the hotel we found that it was all shabby and needed decoration. It is a shame because the location is lovely and the facilities are there but need "seeing to"!! We had dinner in the restaurant and the staff gave good friendly service. There was a varied menu and the portions were good. We then had a drink in the bar which without any warning put the shutters up at 10.30 We stayed just the one night instead 0f two possible three. We checked out the following morning and will not be going back despite the lovely location. If you are looking for a 4 star hotel do not go here!! I wish I had read the trip advisor reviews before booking, the ones on Booking Angels were quite favourable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK2JS1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We booked through Club La Costa for a week. The "suite" (room 12) was small and cramped. The bathrrom was bordering on dirty when we wanted a shower in the evening we had to wait for 5 or more minutes for the water to run through. The sheets were not changed. The whole room looked as if it had not been used for a while. On one occasion some of the seats in the bar smelt of urine!!

On the plus side the staff were extremely nice and helpful. The restraunt (run by an outside company) was really good value, the food was fantastic and the staff were excellent.

Will not be going back .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jinxStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The service was helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived. The receptionist said the suite we had been given was one of the nicest in the hotel. I don't know how accurate that was as we didn't see the others, but the the one we had certainly exceeded our expectations in terms of size, amenities, comfort and outlook. We could see the extensive gardens reaching down towards the beach with an array of trees and flower beds in view. To the side we could see the tennis court and large putting green.
The restaurant was beautifully set and made a fine accompaniment to the fine dining we enjoyed. All in all a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mature_traveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
381 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
65 reviews
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Property: Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site Also has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation 'Brasserie16' serving excellent meals - renowned for it's excellent carveys served on 3 days of the week Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth, mouth of the River Exe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing