We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for so many reasons!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This hotel really was a gem. was recommended by friends to us for our weekend break. We both have stressful jobs so it was lovely to find this relaxing hotel with very friendly, welcoming, helpful staff. The views from our (slightly dated) room were amazing. The opportunity to get in some lovely walks was good. Restaurant on site was very accommodating for my wifes special diet. Food was varied and very good value. The leisure facilities were good too with something for everyone. Also use of FREE Wifi - brilliant! Would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel28_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

Came down to visit family and some friends and I was recommended to come here.

It was clean, near my family, good sized room (I've stayed in some dives in the past but this was good!), great service - everyone couldn't do enough for us!

Was a great break and as they had free Wi-fi I managed to call home to check on the kids on Skype (and I could see them too).

Bar was good- sat in their lounge looking out over to the sea, was a bit rough out on the waves but nice and warm with a pint of 'Bays' real ale, marvellous!

Definitely staying here when I return next month for a family meal - Mum's anniversary!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mopsytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Just returned from a lovely week at this hotel. We stayed in a 1 bed appartment which was spacious and really comfortable. On this occasion we were travelling for pleasure I often travel for work, staying in hotels and the bed and room at the Devencourt was one of the most comfortable I have slept in beating more expensive establishments.
i see other reviews mention the decor, and yes there are certain aspects that i would change, but isn't that just a matter of taste? More important is that the hotel is welcoming and friendly, and all staff we dealt with were friendly, helpful and professional. We felt at ease the moment we walked through the doors and our opinion did not change.
Location wise, it is a short walk into Exmouth which was great as we could leave the car at the hotel which was a rare treat! We chose to eat in the restaurant twice and in the bar once and again service and food was faultless, and good value including a reasonably priced wine list.
A huge thank you to everyone at the Devoncourt for making our stay a real pleasure and we hope to return again soon for a second visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda20056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

If you still like the 60s interior to give you a nice sauna feeling and where the patterns miss match everything, this is the place for you! The hotel is dated, most suitable for elderly people who haven`t been to specsavers for a while! Nice staff and breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ingy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Just back from Exmouth and a stay at the Devoncourt. A lot of the review say how it needs a refirub, it does, but don't let that put you off, rooms are clean, big and spaciuos, terrific views, fantastic breakfasts. Staff really helpful and welcoming food good, excellent free wi-fi. Gym is usable and pool is great. Lovely stay thanks

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryflashman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The location of the hotel is excellent and the staff generally friendly however we have had one or two strange moments with other guests and staff alike. The food and the bar were excellent as they are run as a seperate business to the main hotel. The decor is rather dated and the furnishings generally need upgrading which is a shame as the leisure facilities are excellent and the location to the beach and town are good.
The rooms themselves are very spacious and the beds quite comfortable, the living room was huge with a dated but adequate kitchen. The shower never really got hot and to run a bath took 15 minutes. In general this hotel desperately needs a refurbishment as it has become quite tired and dated however the staff are helpful and location excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1991steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We first stayed in the Devoncourt in 1998 and we have been back every year since.
In August we have three appartments so that our whole family can be together.

There is nothing prissy or precious about the Devoncourt so our grandchildren are able to be themselves and relax.
The garden is a real treat in the summer, but it is also spectacular at Christmas time with all of the lights on at night.
There is a tennis court and putting on the lawn.

There is a security gate at the bottom of the garden that allows very easy access to the road leading to the beach and the rock pools: very handy when there is a lot of equipment to carry, or when slipping back to the hotel for lunch.
The beach is one of the best in the area.
There is an outdoor pool and an indoor pool with dedicated fun sessions for children when floaties are available.

We find the appartments clean, spaceous and comfortable.

There is a footpath/cycle track to Lympstone and on to Exton. There is another path at the top of Douglas Avenue that will take you to Budley Salterton. The whole front of Exmouth has a cycle path too. Our Grandchildren have their bikes with them.
And of course you can also walk the stunning costal path to Budley Salterton too.

Busses that stop directly outside the hotel go into the centre of Exmouth one way and to Budley the other way.
From Budley it is also possible to pick up another bus to Sidmouth.

Trains from Exmouth will take you on a very impressive journey to Exeter, or beyond to Teighnmouth.
Exeter Quays is especially worth a visit, as is the Cathedral.

Should you want to go out on a car trip, then find Sticlepath on your map and head for the Finch Foundry.

And when you get back to the hotel after a busy day there is always a smile and a friendly word from the reception people.

The restaurant serves excellent food and some tempting deals such as the two courses for £15.00, or the carvery for £8.95.

For anyone wanting to do a bit of self catering in their appartment, there is a nice little Coop at the top of Douglas Avenue and a large Tesco a bit further on.

We are already looking forward to and planning our holiday in the Devoncourt in 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teapot66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
498 reviews
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
160 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £45 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site. Has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation, 'Brasserie16', serving first rate quality meals - renowned for it's excellent carvey's served on 3 days of the week. Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth,on the mouth of the River Exe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing