We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we'd stayed longer”
Review of Barn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Spent one night at the Barn Hotel - but would happly go back. Our room (the "Garden Room") was large with comfortable bed and a corner seating area. Breakfast was good. The hotel is about 25 minutes' walk into Exmouth along the sea front, or shorter if you nip down back streets. There is also a pleasant bit of beach right near the hotel. It is ideally situated for a walk along the cliffs into Budleigh Salterton, from where you can get the bus back if you wish.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1968jaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Barn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

What a find!! This is a superb bed and breakfast in the absolute ideal location. We were very welcomed showing us the incredible view with good lounge facility and breakfast room. The room was spacious and newly decorated very tastefully. The breakfast was first class with a choice of juices, yogurts and cereals then followed by excellent cooked breakfast with the best sausages ever!! A delightful stay and we will be back for sure!!! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 6 has superb views
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neale c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

we stayed 1 night at the barn.the hotel is set in a lovely location just off the exmouth coast. The hotel had a change of ownership last may & the current owners are updating the hotel areas do look a little tired. Our room had a lovely view, the furnishings were nice, & modern, but did not match the tired old wall furnishing. The bathroom was very basic, an old redring shower in the bath,and the soap tray had old used soap in & was not very clean! unfortunately the extractor fan in the bathroom was very noisy as was the plumbing which lasted 20-30 minutes which made sleep difficult.

the breakfast was very basic- packet cereals or a english breakfast- porridge was not an option.the one hour window for breakfast was a little tight [ 8-9am]

the communal lounge was very pleasant

we probably would not stay again as would prefer slightly more home comforts- decent bathroom & better breakfast options?? some fresher options rather than packets

we wish the current owners success in updatting this potential lovely hotel

Room Tip: sea view, close walking distance to exmouth coast & town
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corrine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The owner was friendly and let us into our room early which was great. The room was really big with an excellent sea view and comfy bed. Some things were a bit tired e.g. the curtains but the size of the room and view made up for this. The location was ideal, just a few minutes walk to the beach and 5 minutes to the town. The breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totalec1ipsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at The Barn for two days and it wasn't long enough, the room with a sea view was wonderful and the hotel has been beautifully furnished in keeping with its arts and crafts character. The hotel was charming and I would have liked to have stayed longer to explore the gardens more but it was February so a bit chilly to sit outside. I would love to go back again in the summer and enjoy a drink on the patio looking over the glorious gardens. The breakfast was delicious and the best that I have had in any hotel, the owner was very friendly and I liked the fact that they put faith in their clients by offering an honesty bar. All in all an excellant stay and I would break my rule of never going to the same place twice by visiting the barn again. It's also worth mentioning that the owners have recently refurbished the communal rooms to a very high standard and are in the process of refurbishing the bedrooms so any previous reviews may not reflect this.

Room Tip: I would ask for a sea view as these look over the beautiful gardens as well.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geraldine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The owner was very nice and accommodating and the location was great. Rooms/bathrooms are a bit dated and the floors in our room were very squeaky. As another reviewer mentioned the 1 hour window for breakfast was a bit of a challenge. They kindly put a jug of milk in the bar fridge for us to have cereal the last morning as we had to leave at 6 am for London. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have just returned from The Barn.
Although i would definately say this wasn't a 4**** as adverised, it is a lovely place for a short stay.
The welcoming was great, and we were shown around inside, and up to our room,
Sadly we didnt get the view we hoped for (over the owners Huge conservatory and Garden),
But we didnt pay £120 (2nts) just to see the sea..and tbh it was within a stones throw anyway.
The Breakfast was very nice, even the sausages. A little more than an hour window would be alot better, as it all seemed rushed. A handful of problems on the second morning ended with us finding a Costa as the coffee was weaker than the tea. Cold toast, lacking certain items of cutlery and running out of juice were some of the others to name a few.
But all in all a quaint location that makes you feel like you are in the 18th Centery.
Bedroom was very Basic and "periodic". Tea and coffee was available but bigger cups, and more milk are really needed.
Pool looked very unloved and very small.
Would we stay again???
Yes, we probably would, at a cheaper price.
A lovely "base" for visiting the East coast of Devon. More suitable for couples, as i would have been scared stiff the Children would break something valuable.
Waitress worked really hard, well done!

Room Tip: NOT room 5
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedges_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
457 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Hotel

Address: Foxholes Hill, Exmouth EX8 2DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £60 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Barn Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing