We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”
Review of Barn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

If I had to be picky, I'd say the general decor is a bit tired and there could have been a better selection for breakfast. But when you're sat in bed looking at the crashing waves and the hills beyond, these things don't really matter. Views couldn't be better. We'll go back if we need to stay in Exmouth again.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a good size with views directly onto the lawns and sea beyond. Overlooked slightly by som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingtrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    35
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
22
63
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

A superb building tastefully done. Gardens and pool great for my daughter. Big room for three of us but aware another family staying unhappy with their very small room

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottla52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I booked 2 nights at The Barn but ended up only staying 1 night. This was due to there not being that much to do in Exmouth and due to the fact we had little sleep at The Barn. Our bedroom was tiny, I did notice that another vacant room was bigger, the bed was a small double so we battled to sleep. The room decor was a little tired and needed updating and the hair dryer (the old fashion on the wall types) took hours to eventually dry my hair.
We could also hear other guests coming and going thru the night which didnt help. The manager was really friendly and concerned. The breakfast was good and the outdoor area, pool and views over Exmouth are fab.
We left a day early which was a great move as we drove onto Lyme Regis which had a lot more going on then Exmouth.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLandJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

So, my second visit to the barn & I fall more & more in love with this place after each visit! I was fortunate enough to choose a lovely sunny weekend & this made the trip perfect. If I could afford it I would go every weekend!
Chris made us feel at home & was very helpful if we needed directions! And Cheryl still servers a great breakfast, I highly recommend the sausages!

Overall, hotel is lovely, quirky & oozes character. I have only been home a day & already planning when I can get back there to sit & stare at the sea in the sun.....pure bliss!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chebby-Booney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed at the Barn hotel for one night with my mother, the night before the wedding. The room was lovely, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good. The hotel had a very relax atmosphere and made the night before my mothers wedding perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkatExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Spent one night at the Barn Hotel - but would happly go back. Our room (the "Garden Room") was large with comfortable bed and a corner seating area. Breakfast was good. The hotel is about 25 minutes' walk into Exmouth along the sea front, or shorter if you nip down back streets. There is also a pleasant bit of beach right near the hotel. It is ideally situated for a walk along the cliffs into Budleigh Salterton, from where you can get the bus back if you wish.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1968jaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2012

What a find!! This is a superb bed and breakfast in the absolute ideal location. We were very welcomed showing us the incredible view with good lounge facility and breakfast room. The room was spacious and newly decorated very tastefully. The breakfast was first class with a choice of juices, yogurts and cereals then followed by excellent cooked breakfast with the best sausages ever!! A delightful stay and we will be back for sure!!! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 6 has superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neale c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
86 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Hotel

Property: Barn Hotel
Address: Foxholes Hill, Exmouth EX8 2DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Barn Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing