We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a little bit different”
Review of Barn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A great find, fab quirky building, great location, comfy bed, friendly staff and great breakfast. Would definitely recommend to others - but agree feels more like an upmarket B&B xxx Amazing views across the estuary, a really ealxing stay - I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at The Barn for the sixth time this week, if you ar looking for a B&B in Exmouth area this will fit your bill. Clean, excellent surroundings, good breakfasts.Diffierent rooms with great views. Well worth a stay!

Room Tip: Number six would be the one,even though we missed out this time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROY C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed in January 2012 (despite what it says below) and we chose this hotel due to its great location and large room and it did not disappoint. The hotel and grounds are very quirky which adds to its character, the room we had was large with a sofa and overlooked the garden. It was quiet and we found the staff very welcoming and friendly. They recommended the restaurant Les Saveurs to eat at and it was amazing so I recommend also. The beech is a 5 minute walk away and the town a quick taxi ride. The breakfast is basic but good all the same and yes a little tlc would help but it shouldn't put you off staying there as it was well we equipped and clean. I recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the biggest room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank checked01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The building and gardens are lovely but all is in need of some TLC. The pool was clean and recently re-lined, but the path and gardens were covered in weeds which was such a shame as the garden could really be amazing!
The room was named superior, but the bathroom was VERY disappointing. The corner of our bath panel was cracked and the tile near the sink/pipes was broken. I can tell the new owners are attempting to do it up, but for the £129 per night it's not cutting it yet.
The 1 hour window for breakfast between 8 and 9 is a huge disappointment and smacks of B & B not hotel. The staff were all very friendly and the waitress was lovely but she was clearly rushed off her feet to serve all tables in the hour.
I think this hotel will be the best in Exmouth one day, but for now... view it as a 3 star B & B with lovely staff and the potential to be amazing.
PS The crisp white bedlinen was spotless, as were the towels.

Room Tip: Sea view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countrygal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is our 2nd or 3rd stay at the Barn over the years and its always OK and Convenient. Its a B&B , not a hotel and as a B&B its perfectly OK ... although it sits at the top end of the price range for me. Good points - Room was fine , might be a bit chilly in the winter as the windows are single glazed and pretty old. Beds, 2 small singles - quite comfy , duvet and duvet cover have cetrainly seen some wear.
Breakfast is pretty good / adequate ... Juices are all out of Cartons, Grapfruit and prunes from a tin (nothing fresh) Cooked food was to order and done quite well. Biggest problem was that breakfast was only between 8 am and 9 am ... which is not very welcoming nor convenient if your on holiday and want to lie in.

On the downside - the hotel needs investment and upgrading .. the bathrooms especially are just not 4 star .. in fact they struggle to make 3 star rating -- Tired and in need of redoing. An Incredibily noisy fan in the bathroom was dreadful and ran on after the light was switched off ..Put that on in the middle of the night and you'd wake the whole hotel !!

Garden is begining to look a bit uncared for and the swimming pool does not look even vaguely enticing.

One area of slight discontent was that the owners have created their own garden area now .. a fenced off "Private" .. a main lawn with wooden raised deck equipped with top quality sunloungers, swings and tables etc .. all very impressive looking .....But its not for guests ! :-(
Compare this with the equipment left out for guests and it feels a bit "Us and them" .. I would have thought that the business and the guests came 1st

When the rooms and the general ambiance recieve some TLC .. This could be a really decent "Hotel" and could attain 4stars .. But to do so it will need to focus on the guests and their needs, at the moment it feels as if its being run with minimum effort from the Owners and run to suit them ... not the paying guest.... So , as it is ... Its a convenient , but overpriced, 2-3 star B&B

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior room with Sea view and make sure it does have a shower - some rooms dor not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strummer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just come back having had a two night break at this hotel. The staff are all very friendly and make you feel very welcome from the minute you arrive. The rooms are a little dated and could do with a bit of a re-vamp but they are clean and the bed was lovely and comfortable.
The breakfast was great too. We couldn't use the swimming pool as the weather wasn't great but it's a very small outdoor pool and I'm not sure if I'd have used it if the weather had been nice. Great spot though and the hotel has a lovely feel to it.

Room Tip: We had room 12, at the top with a sea view. The windows aren't large but it was still lovely hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Having stayed this weekend, at first glance I was more than thrilled with the ambience and setting of The Barn. lovely Hotel, lovely spacious, clean room. stunning views, such friendly and accommodating staff, good traditional English breakfast, nice and hot just how I like it. the only let down for my weekend was the weather, good old England. one things for sure I will be soon returning rain or shine to The Barn Hotel, would recommend to all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
2.2 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.9 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Hotel

Address: Foxholes Hill, Exmouth EX8 2DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £60 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Barn Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing