We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would visit again”
Review of Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“would visit again”
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Negatives first: Had to share tables in dining room. Very small portions of vegetables with dinner. Service in dining room was variable - not always enough staff. Entertainment was provided in the bar/lounge making it impossible to enjoy a quiet drink after dinner.

Positives: Very clean. Staff eager to please. Good location. Excellent food (see veg above) with good menu choices at dinner.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonofsardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    59
    37
    9
    5
See reviews for
25
56
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I have been going to the Manor Hotel for 11 years now and feel like I am going to my second home every time. The staff are friendly and helpful and do everything they can to accommodate myself and my mum. The location of the hotel is wonderful, its five minutes walk to the beach, five minutes walk to the town and the food is out of this world. I do feel that people will compare traditional hotels with that of large chain hotels, there is no comparison, its the traditional hotels every time and the Manor Hotel is by far the best in Exmouth, superb and am looking forward to my stay there in June, I am going home!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My Mum and I have just stayed here for a week. The Hotel was really nice and comfy and warm. I have stayed in another hotel were it was a bit cold and so had been worried about this but the heating is on here. We had plenty of room in our room and the bathroom was lovely, modern in good working order.
The food was superb with several varied choices on the menu each night different. The chef doesn't believe in mean portions, we had more than enough, which is nice. Glad we took evening meal in the hotel, it was value for money.
The staff were helpful, polite and cheery and the manager, Dave, was making sure everyone really enjoyed themselves. The hotel had a personal feel, not like that of a large chain, but not claustrophobic.
We had a room at the front of the building with great views over to Dawlish Warren. There are quite a few steps in the hotel, could be a problem if you are not very able bodied, but there is a lift to all floors. The hotel is only a couple of minutes from the Town Centre and from the beach and Theatre - excellent location.
I would definitely go there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATurpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We took one of the hotel's 3 night breaks - dinner bed and breakfast. We don't usually eat in hotels, preferring to go out to local restaurants. We thought we would give dinner a chance on the first night and it was really very good. So much so that we ate there for the following two nights. Lots of choice on the menu and fresh food with good portions. Breakfast was fabulous - again, there is a choice on the menu but you can order what you want and there was no problem with this. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were bright, spacious and clean.
We had a week in the area. So we spent a couple of nights in Sidmouth and returned again to the Manor for our last 2 nights!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomadictravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaenau Gwent
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights on a coaching trip. Our welcome was friendly and this attitude continued throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. If you wanted to deviate from the set menu there was no problem. Food was freshly cooked and abundant. No stodge!! Rooms were clean and bright. Bathroom was sparkling. The staff were excellent and always ready to help. Entertainment was good, perhaps a little old fashioned for my 23 year old daughter, but she too enjoyed her stay.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a lovely view of the sea and a friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlaenauGwentFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The hotel and it's staff were very nice and pleasant. The views from rm 28 were out of this world, a panoramic view of the Exe in all it's glory. The food was fantastic and the value for money excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busylizzy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

we had booked for three nights but enjoyed it so much that we stayed an extra night, the staff were lovely and very helpful, the food also was lovely and plenty of choice and good size portions. the bedrooms were very clean and comfortable. the hotel was in a great position with lovely sea views and only a short walk to the beach and the town centre great few days away .

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronnie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
1.6 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Hotel

Property: Manor Hotel
Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor Hotel is located in an 1790 historic building situated on Exmouth's Beacon, overlooking the Bay and Exe Estuary. Our 40 bedrooms are all en suite, non smoking and are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, toiletries and TV. We provide a full English breakfast, served in our large dining room between 8 and 9.30am. This can be booked with your room booking, or once you arrive at the Hotel. We welcome guests to enjoy a freshly cooked dinner in our restaurant - please make a reservation at Reception. Car parking is limited but can be booked in advance at a cost of £6 per day. On-street parking can also be found in the vicinity of the Hotel. Our staff will endeavour to assist you. Manor Hotel can easily be reached by train or bus from Exeter and it's international airport. Transfers take approximately 30 mins. The Hotel is easily reachable on foot from Exmouth train and bus station. The Hotel is situated only a 5 minute walk from the wonderful sea front and beach, as well as the bustling town centre. There is much entertainment on offer in and around Exmouth from petting zoos to golf courses, the Jurassic Coast and boat trips along the Estuary. Our staff will happily assist with organising your day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Devon
Manor Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing