We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another excellent week at The Manor”
Review of Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Guildford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yet another excellent week at The Manor”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I have visited Exmouth for many years. The welcome at this hotel is always warm and welcoming and everybody is so friendly. Yet again we had a lovely room with sea views, hot water whenever we wanted it and an excellent nights sleep every night. The food was, as usual, beautifully cooked and presented and we were spoilt for choice every night. The staff are like an extended family, they can never do enough for you. The superb location allowed us to go by train, we could walk to the beach in five minutes, into the town in five minutes (where you can catch buses to many places such as Exeter, Seaton, Budleigh Salterton to name but a view, you just can't beat it. I am counting the days until I can go on my next break to The Manor Hotel, in my opinion the best hotel in Exmouth.

Room Tip: I have stayed in all parts of the hotel, all the rooms are clean and bright and there are no noisy r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    58
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
24
52
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Situated overlooking the beach at Exmouth the Manor Hotel provides a perfect location for shopping and visiting local places. Car parking on site. The food was excellent with a choice of starters, main and desert even the full english breakfast makes the day. Hotel clean and the staff are very friendly. Everyone you speak to in the area have a good word for the Manor Hotel. If visiting Exmouth don't forget to view this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodBuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

second visit to hotel, last time 1998. Not a lot of change still very welcoming the staff are their greatest asset nothing was too much trouble food was excellent public rooms good. They are in the process of refurbing the bedrooms. Entertainment provided 2 nights in week.
Close to all the shops in Exmouth flat walks, local bus services close to hand It was the time of the Exmouth festival and there were free bands every day and night to see in the adjacent park. Such fun different genres every night. Well looked after by security patrols finished at 2200hrs on the dot each night. Lighting of the beacons followed by firework display on the last night of diamond jubilee also more fireworks on the Friday night last night of festival.
Parking available in back of hotel but only 6 places or on the road outside the hotel. Good holiday with good friends.

Room Tip: not on top floor ask if you can have one on 1st floor they seem to have completed refurbishment ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pink_worldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed with my large walking group whilst exploring the beautiful South Devon coast.
Food was excellent, good choice, piping hot and served by friendly efficient staff to whom nothing was too much trouble. Clean comfortable room with sea view great loacation near to parks, sea front and town centre which is clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilary58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

dark and unwelcoming entrance and reception did not make for the best first impression. This was not improved by the cold rooms, no heating and the drafty sash windows, give me double glazing over "character" every time. Bathroom was filled by a giant bath, when a walk in shower would have been more than sufficient and more practical. Breakfast was a massive disappointment, made even worse by the squeeky kitchen doors used continuously by the obviously bored and unmotivated waitress. To be honest to pay £70 for the room inc. breakfast was not good value for money as I actually had a more comfortable stay at a Premier Inn the previous night and only had to pay half the price!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikeyboy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullion, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Travelled on a coach from Cornwall. First impressions on entering the hotel was slightly disappointing in that there appeared to be a large empty room on the right but we were huddled around a comparatively small reception area which I wouldnt have thought was a pleasant place to spend any time even for the staff - why not use the bigger room for the reception area (I did notice later on over the weekend that this also doubled as a tv room)
The food was excellent - with several options for breakfast and dinner - ideal for a fusspot like me! The room was a twin but no supplement was charged as I was the only occupant, the room was cleaned and refreshed by a group of pixies who did a marvellous job while I was filling my face at breakfast. The only criticism I would have is that the mattress was far too hard for me i overcame this on the third night by stuffing pillows under the sheet! The gentleman who referred to himself as the gopher did say that if we had any problems to let him know and he would sort it but I thought the mattress might be a bit of a drag to change. The staff were very good - one lady, who may have been the manageress walked past our table several times and didn't really ask if everything was ok but constantly puffed her hair from her face by exhaling - I don't know if she was shy but she seemed to interact well with the guests not on our tour.The remainder of the staff were excellent. I had everything I needed in this hotel. Big room, excellent views, superb meals and good company

Room Tip: 2nd floor at the front (room 15)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llangynidr
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

just returned from a new year break at this hotel with edwards coaches pontypridd and cannot speak to highly of the accommodation excellent breakfast great choice of evening meals. very friendly staff. our waitress a petite blond really looked after us and i cannot speak too highly of her. the managers david and alison run an excellent establishment our room on floor 3 whilst small met our needs with a view over the bay. FINAL RATING A STAR

Room Tip: our room 112 3rd floor whilst on the small side gives a good view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Hotel

Property: Manor Hotel
Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Devon
Manor Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing