We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable week end Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Truro, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable week end Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We had a 3 night week end break at the Manor Hotel, and found everything to be excellent, from the staff to the food to the cleanliness. The hospitality was so good that we are returning again next April. {and it was a party of 35 people}!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    53
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
24
48
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We were on 3rd floor in a very small room, have larger cupboards at home bed was no bigger than three quarter, was told it was a double god help if yr on the larger side, very uncomfortable it had a sloping ceiling right by the bed if you were to forget about the slope in the night god forbid you could be decapitated avoid room 25 on 3rd floor. Breakfeast was disgusting how can you ruin scrambled eggs!!!! Omg it was a funny looking pure white colour floating in greasy water, toast was burnt at that point got up and left, you really do get fed up fighting and complaining these days, it drains you and very rarely achieves anything, so hopefully by these blogs we can tell others and hit them in the pocket.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Thank god we only booked 2 nights I think we must have been to another hotel because our experience was nothing like the reviews
The best thing about our room was the view. The decor was at least 30years old.I counted 14 places on one wall where holes had been filled in and papered over with something different as well as 2 floor to ceiling cracks which were held up by the paper.
If we had been served any of the food in a restaurant it would have beeen returned poor quality,poor choice (no pasta or vegetarian option) and roast potatoes which had been reheated several times.
There seemed to be no-one in charge just a receptionist and two waitresses
The worst place I have stayed
Don't waste yor money in this hotel

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JNK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Manor Hotel In Exmouth is one of the best in the West. I have stayed there on numerous occasions and found the Staff to be warm and friendly.The food is excellent with a varied menu to cater for all tastes.Many of the rooms provide a Sea View and the Hotel is situated about a 5 minute walk from the town centre and the sea front. I am looking forward to my next visit soon. Kim Bristow

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 271kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I have stayed at The Manor Hotel many times and find it extremely comfortable with sea views to die for. The staff were first rate as was the food, it makes a change to stay in a family run hotel where i felt welcomed and looked after and good value. Well done to all can't wait to return.

Graham White

Room Tip: All the rooms we have used are very comfortable, choose one at the front for the sea views across to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

GrahamLewis
We stayed here on the 24 and 25 August 2012 as our usual hotel, The Royal Beacon, did not have any vacancies. We had seen the hotel from the outside and it always looked nice so I was happy to be able to get a room here. Oh what a mistake! Inside the hotel has an air of shabbiness and a distinctive 1950's feel to it. The bed was the hardest and most uncomfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. Our room was on the first floor and the door to the staircase, which was a heavy fire door, opens directly onto the first stair, an unwary guest could find it a hazard. The hotel offered car parking, what is not said is that there are only about six places and in one of them it is possible to get blocked in as two places are in tandem. The very small lift between floors was noisy and seemed to bump its way up and down. On the plus side was its location, but we knew this anyway, nice breakfast food and friendly staff. In summary a mediocre shabby and expensive hotel. would we stay at the Manor hotel again, a resounding "No".

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here on 10th July and asked for a top floor view of the estuary which we got. It was on the third floor and accessed by a small noisey lift. The room was small, but it did have a new refurbished bathroom. The two windows were very difficult to open, it needed a strong hand. The views when the windows were open were lovely one could see all along the coast The only complaint I would say would be the bed, it was an old mattress and could feel the springs coming through. The hotel needs total refurbishment, and we seemed to be the youngest couple there. It seems to cater for the older coach type couples. But apart from that all staff were very pleasant, the breakfast excellent, We did not have an evening meal, but went into Exmouth. The small carpark is at the back,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Hotel

Property: Manor Hotel
Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Devon
Manor Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing