We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For what we paid excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Faversham Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“For what we paid excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We took a break at this hotel in February. For four nights half board with a free bar in the evening we paid less than £150 each including a room upgrade. The room was both spacious and comfortable with a view overlooking the sea. The staff were both friendly and helpful. The food was not gourment but for what we paid that was not expected. It was well prepared simple grub which siuted us. You get what you pay for and for what we paid it was excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeFavershamKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Its great you had a excellent stay with us in February and thankyou for taking the time to let us know.
I hope you return to us in the coming months as we are offering some great value packages, such as in house credit.We have new dinner menus and are looking forward to a busy Autumn/Winter

Thanks Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    189
    83
    34
    17
See reviews for
48
314
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

A nice hotel with friendly staff & good service. The room was of good quaiity with excellent views. The thing that lets this hotel down is the food served from the kitchen. The menu is very mundane & shows no imagination. In some cases badly cooked as well. I believe it is the case that the chef goes home half way through service & leaves food on a hot plate or such like. I had a large piece of plastic served with my ice cream & when I complained nothing was done about it !!
Could do better !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you for your generous comments regarding our service standards at the hotel.
We have recently introduced new menu's and they have been well received by the majority of our customers.
I have reviewed your comments with our Head Chef and he is making some changes to improve some menu choices.
I have also ensured that ice cream tubs are checked thoroughly by the restaurant manager and any broken plastic ice cream tub rims are discarded.
I apologise and hope you return to the Imperial to enjoy the views and give the food another chance

Thanks Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

we have just spent a very enjoyable 4days at this very well appointed hotel.
The grounds very well cared for , nice pool and the flowers a credit to the gardener.
Our room had a sea view and balcony (we did upgrade to the superior one) It was both spacious and well equipted ,very clean with a large bathroon that provided all we needed to shower or bath. The dining room was a delight, bar and lounge very comfortable, and all the staff approachable. Food good , and varied menu.
WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahsmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Fantastic feedback.I will pass on your positive comments to all the staff involved at the hotel. This really does motivate the staff to maintain and improve service standards.I hope to see you soon

Thanks Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

just got back from a 5 day break with shearings at this hotel.first the not so good our room no 26 very dusty miss match of furniture wardrobe didnt match the other furniture .the carpet had never been hoovered and wasnt while we where there .there was bird muck on the windows and had been there for a while !!paid for a sea view but the sea could only be seen through the trees.now for the good the bath room was good and clean the restaurant was good as was the food.staff very friendly the bar was good and nice to have a relaxing drink in the gardens are loveley very weel kept credit to the gardener.watch out for the sea gulls all in all nice hotel but bedrooms need attention

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barney91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I have reviewed the standards of room 26 since your visit to ensure improvements in the cleanliness of your room.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the service standards in the bar and restaurant and I will pass on your compliments to Peter the gardener

Thanks Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Just returned from The Imperial at Exmouth on a five day Shearings Break. The Imperial is a very nice hotel close to the town centre. We had a bedroom with a sea view (214) well worth paying more. We ahd stunning view over the Exe. The hotel is clean and well kept although requires updating and painting in places, just like my house. Food was good and well prepared and served (special mention to Justina are waitress who was excellent. We throughly enjoy our breaks with Shearings and their hotels, we even are off to Bournemouth, for the second time this year, next month. Well done to Shearings and C & C Hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nimitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Its is great to hear you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Imperial. The hotel has fantastic sea views where you can sit and relax and let the world go bye.
I will pass on your compliments to Justina and the kitchen team.
I hope you can return and enjoy our hospitality in the near future.Best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

When we arrived we were given the keys to our room. The room was drab with wallpaper coming off the wall. The second room although on the lower floor was clean with a partial view.
We had dinner that evening and we were disappointed with the meal, are salmon goujons supposed to be crunchy? and then the ice cream was tasteless..
On a positive note, staff were good as were the breakfasts and the hotel is in a good position

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haybarn06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you for the comments.I will speak to the chef regarding your points raised about the food on that particular evening. You may be pleased to know we have recently introduced a new menu with more choices and improved recipes.
I hope you return to the Imperial for a relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Had a four night stay at this Hotel with Shearings in April. Booked a sea view room, and wasn't dissapointed. We had a lovely ground floor room, well appointed, with a good bathroom, and a good view! The meals were very good, the staff very pleasant and friendly. The Hotel itself has an excellent position, the front leads out onto the prom, and from the back you are only a five minute walk from the town centre with all the shops and cafes. We intend to go back sometime soon, but instead of going on the trips we shall explore for ourselves. This is a lovely area, often bypassed for Torquay etc...

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade, which is what we shall do nexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littlegib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Hi

I am very pleased that you had a very enjoyable stay at The Imperial hotel.
I agree that the hotel is an ideal position to explore the local area and the sea view rooms make the most of the stunning view.
I will pass onto the staff, your comments and praise for the service provided.
We will always try to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible.

There are several Coast and Country hotels in great locations that you may be interested in

Thank you and I look forward to you returning to the hotel
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Exmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Property: The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Address: The Imperial Hotel Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing